Page 1 of 16

billfishing this weekend whos keen??

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:48 am
by harmsey
saturday the 20th looks the goods for a billfish hunt out around south or nth gutter whos keen?? :hunting:

the billies have been thick out off dundee so hopefull a few of them have swam around the corner :roll:

max are you still going out??

probably looking for a decky or 2 if anyone is keen for a few hours trolling/ :drinking2:

:drinking1: Harmsey

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:36 pm
by slapper1
better off heading to dundee harmsey

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:00 pm
by harmsey
would love to but the missus is due in 10 days so i need to be as close to home as possible :wink:

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:36 pm
by max
Yep Im going Harmsey(Sat.) putting in at N/cliff around 6 ,they predict 10-15 kts at worst, should go to Dundee but cant be bothered with the drive :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:26 pm
by double haul
Sorry guys would love to head out there with yas but i just cant tear myself away from the city. Max is right it takes me 2hrs towing there, then 1 1/2 hrs boating if its a little choppy. But buy jessus its worth it at the moment. I spent around 100hrs getting the first fish in the boat and to date after 2 trips ive landed 8 for 22hrs trolling :mrgreen: give or take and hour or 2. That dosent include the 3 fish on the first trip the deckie landed. My best day in broome saw me land 3 fish in 10hrs, so it looks like i might have to move down to dundee and become a hermit for a while. :rofl:

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:28 pm
by harmsey
max wrote:Yep Im going Harmsey(Sat.) putting in at N/cliff around 6 ,they predict 10-15 kts at worst, should go to Dundee but cant be bothered with the drive :mrgreen:
south or nth gutter max?????

will be on ch72.

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:30 pm
by bigal
i would be keen but im probably gonna head out vernans with millsy and frank... + i think my boats to small... 4.5m tiller steer....?

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:23 pm
by harmsey
bigal wrote:i would be keen but im probably gonna head out vernans with millsy and frank... + i think my boats to small... 4.5m tiller steer....?
hhhmmm millsy and frank :roll:

sounds like a bunch of bludgers i took fishing once up the south barra fishing in the middle of night and got SFA. :bonk: wonder if its same fellas i know :-? both love thier jigging and have all the bling but no skill :rofl: might even head over to millsy's secret spot at the vernons and show him how its done :naughty:

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:51 pm
by bigal
Pretty sure its the same people... they have told me about you....

They went to the south with me a week or so before they went with you... Only our trip was successful :catch: .. They told me when they went with you it was to high up on the floodplains? when we went biggest for the 3 hour sesh was 95 (caught by me).. Millsy got and 80...heaps of 70s.... Yet frank fail to catch a fish... he was p...ed...

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:54 pm
by max
might start at Fenton and head to Nth Gutter Harmsey, if we spread out a bit maybe we can find some bait which sometimes doesnt come up in the water column until after tide change which is 9.40 Sat.,I spoke to a bloke I know (Tim) who was out there with Millsy last weekend and seen only a few schools of bait but better tides this weekend

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:31 am
by jabsy
harmsey wrote:would love to but the missus is due in 10 days so i need to be as close to home as possible :wink:

10 days?? That still leaves you at least 9????

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:48 am
by Coutta
Gday Gents

Hey harmesy bit cheeky I know seeing as we dont know each other but are you still after a crew?

I was really keen to head out to sail city way on saturday with a sleep over at blaze but every single one of the 7 blokes (including jabsy) I asked yesterday cant make it - V8's / kid responsibilities / work etc so with no crew i'm stuck......and the missus has given me the green light - doh!

Have the teaser, lures and some skippin gars ready to go.

By the way Max I reckon it will be better than 15's - have a look at the forecast - a nice low heading into the bight on Friday - again!

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:53 am
by jabsy
Coutta wrote:I was really keen to head out to sail city way on saturday with a sleep over at blaze but every single one of the 7 blokes (including jabsy) I asked yesterday cant make it - V8's / kid responsibilities / work etc so with no crew i'm stuck......and the missus has given me the green light - doh!

7 blokes?? I hope I was the first on that list!!! I'll be right by the 11/12 July...

I can always console you with a ticket to the V8's if you need to drown your no-fish sorrows.

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:30 am
by Coutta
Jabsy - yep you and dodgy knot were the first - although with you its always a long shot :rofl:

News just in I'm now crewing for another bloke - heading off dundee on saturday (along with half of darwin it seems)...

So Harmesy - was a tad premature this time - although i would be keen in the future for a trip if you need crew another time - my mate (guy) who lives across the road from you reckons your new machine is awesome...

And Max / Harmesy - was just down talking with george and ronald - apparantly westy was out fenton wide way yesterday and didnt see any billies at all...... :-?

Good luck all.

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:16 pm
by max
Ah yes but they wernt the perfect tides as that will be Sat.and Sun. going by the Mal Miles logic. :wink: