Beer and Boating

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:11 pm
by meatgroup
I keep seeing snippets here and there .... and I am not sure. So I will risk embarrassment.

Is there a law here, like in QLD where you can only operate a boat with a breath alcohol level under 0.05....

I have seen some lads come in to Dinah who have serious trouble standing upright as they walk (read: almost crawl :lol: ) up the ramp ??

Enlighten me ??

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:43 pm
by NathanL
No dude.
No laws at all pertaining to DUI for boats.
however you cannot opperate them in a 'dangerous manner', this what they will get you for if you're unsafe.

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:54 pm
by harmsey
cant get done unless you are opperating your boat in a dangerous manner,,,,, but,,,, they can and will get you at the ramp backing the boat down :wink: i was told this but an officer doing inspections at dinah beach boat ramp so i guess this is pretty accurate :drinking1: :drinking2:

is there any coppers on the forum that can give us an answer on this :-? :-?

:drinking1: harmsey

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:03 pm
by bandit
what these guys have said is true! atm territorians can enjoy a beer on the water! lets hope it stays that way!
but obviously you have to be under .05 to drive home!
this is why most who choose to have a few stay the night. the daly is a beauty cause you can leave ur boat in the water! or you could sleep in the boat at tommycut... ive found the more beers you drink the easier it is to sleep at night :rofl: :drinking1:

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:31 pm
by BarraBeast
the more empty stubbies on the floor of yer boat the better, if you flip it then the search parties can follow the floating bottle trail. it's a safety thing.

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 8:32 pm
by 2rods
Even though there is no law against drinking in the boat there is the underlying thing of being in charge of a vessel and the people on it...

Yes I love a beer :drinking2: or a bottle of red :drinking3: :drinking3: and don't mind either out on the water but NOT when I am the skipper.... I would like to think I can bring my boat and my crew home in 1 piece and alive.

There are people on here who could tell you horror stories of how small things that have gone wrong and nearly cost them big time......when the poop hits the fan I would rather be 100% on the ball.

Just my thoughts.......

Oh and if you think it won't change (0.05% BAC on the water) think again the NTWSAC are pushing the NTG to change it :croc:

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:22 pm
by Kevin Kevinson
i for one love ripping the guts out of a 30pack of cans when fishing.

(just ask a few FFF members who have had me as a deckie!)

but i must say I agree with 2rods. imagine how you would feel if you were p...ed and had an accident and killed one of your mates.

if your the skip and still driving, keep your faculties.

if you have anchored up for the night, and conditions permit, rip in I say.

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:26 pm
by deepblack
Hi Guys,
Bit of a right time, right place one I think, if you were crewing with me back when I used to chase Southern Bluefin in the South of Tassie and you turned up with a carton you wouldn't have been asked out again, although the sea conditions down there could turn downright nasty in the blink of an eye so there there was no room for useless p...ed b@#%ards on the boat. I even had one bloke who when I looked back to see how he was doing about 50nm out at 6 am one morning had lit up a hash pipe! Go figure... needless to say he wasn't invited back. These days it"s bit different, a quiet spot of trolling for an arvo and a few cans and tall tales to pass the time? Bring it on....
Cheers....
John.

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:59 pm
by meter_seeker
I completely agree with 2rods, i personally wont have any more than 2 beers with mates if im skipper with the old man i dont even have any, call me soft but its grown upon me working on dry ships. I've seen to many alcohol related incidents in my short time already within the maritime industry, they aint pretty, some even death :| .

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:42 pm
by Blinky
If there are children in the boat there's a no p..s rule, otherwise it's every man for themselves............bring home a boat full of dead marines!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:13 am
by luke79
i very rarely take any beer out with me, but im not really much of a drinker anyway so i figure why bother on the water, id rather just get stuck into ice cold water. i dont mind if other people have a few beers, but if someone gets blind and is being a dick on my boat, they wont get a second invite. ive had to drive a mates boat back to the ramp a few times, but id rather do that than have some p...ed bugger struggling to get us home.

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:47 am
by slug
deepblack wrote: I even had one bloke who when I looked back to see how he was doing about 50nm out at 6 am one morning had lit up a hash pipe! Go figure...

And the problem is .............. :-? :-? :rofl: :rofl:

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:56 am
by noundz
I for one don't want a breatho on the water :fu: But like most of the things good to the Territory, it will disappear :bs: This is arguably due to the amount of "southerners" that move here and want it "just like home" Now before you you call me a "redneck" I like most others will drink responsibly on the water :angel: Just because there is a law doesn't mean it will stop it :bonk: There are still drink drivers :mrgreen:

If they were (and one day will) to enforce booze on the H2O, how would this sit for the party camping on the boat at their favorite fishing spot for the night :-? Who is going to stay sober when it is "a fish a cast" and you always have a beer after a Barra is landed :cheers:

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 12:06 pm
by BarraBeast
noundz wrote:I for one don't want a breatho on the water :fu: But like most of the things good to the Territory, it will disappear :bs: This is arguably due to the amount of "southerners" that move here and want it "just like home" Now before you you call me a "redneck" I like most others will drink responsibly on the water :angel: Just because there is a law doesn't mean it will stop it :bonk: There are still drink drivers :mrgreen:

If they were (and one day will) to enforce booze on the H2O, how would this sit for the party camping on the boat at their favorite fishing spot for the night :-? Who is going to stay sober when it is "a fish a cast" and you always have a beer after a Barra is landed :cheers:
that says it all :bow: You don't have to be tipsy to be dangerous, you just need to be a nob!. 6 weeks ago I was scuba diving(taking under water photos for FF) out of the way from shipping lanes etc, as I surfaced 3 blokes in a boat went screaming past within 10 metres of my HUGE dive flag clearly displayed on my boat. :fubird: it's 150m berth you need to give divers down ya *(&*(^*(&^ :evil: :fubird:

I declare open season on nobbers! :hunting:

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:05 pm
by bandit
meter_seeker wrote:I completely agree with 2rods, i personally wont have any more than 2 beers with mates if im skipper with the old man i dont even have any, call me soft but its grown upon me working on dry ships. .
:rofl:

you know thats not true... dont make me post photos/videos of you in action bro :drinking2: :rofl: