Camp cover for boat.

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:31 pm
by fff1964
Hi Gent's
After my last trip to the mouth of the south with my daughter, i have decided
to get some sort of rain/mozzie/covet for my boat.

looking for ideas and comments on materials, designs, prices and manufacturers of something like this.

Hooking on to rails or gunwales sealing as much as possible maybe with some zipper sections ???????????????

any help/ advice appreciated.

Re: Camp cover for boat.

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:03 pm
by Jer
In Trim do awesome covers. Check them out on Facebook.

I'm of the opinion that you do it once and do it right. Which is not what I actually ended up doing. I've gone dodgy and cheap with two tarps that go over the canopy and overlap about 10cm in the middle. That keeps 95% of the rain out and only if it's a massive storm will a little bit of water get in. As for the mozzies I have a camping mozzie dome that I hang from the canopy using a bungee cord.

Ultimately I'd like two covers, one for the Wet and one from the Dry. The dry season cover would simply be a mozzie net cover that goes over the canopy and loops around the outside of the boat and tightens at the back. The wet season cover would go over the canopy and tighten in the same way but would obviously be waterproof. There'd be big zipped openings on either side and front and rear zipped openings as well. All openings would have zipper mozzie net as well so you can still have a flick.

I haven't found a money tree yet so I'm stuck with the dodgy and cheap versions for a while.

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:15 pm
by Simmo83
I've given this a bit of thought, job one is extend the front deck to fit 2 people on some sort of buildable frame.

I'd like exactly what your saying, dry season mozzie dome from the front to the targa top and down to the floor and the same again with canvas. I had planned to have flexible poles like a dome tent from the front of the boat to the targa as in poop weather the boat should turn into it under anchor, then slope from the targa to the front. Press studs to secure them a fair lip over the boat so water runs off into the drink. Picture half a dome tent with zippable mozzie net from the top to the floor sleeping two.

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:37 pm
by Luke35
Here's some screenshots from intrims Facebook.. he has heaps more and some vids of them. Check them out. Apparently priced $1100 - $1600.. I'm putting my pennies away for one for sure 8)

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:51 pm
by NTFizzer
Interesting however I wouldn't want to be trapped in one of those in the unlikely event something went wrong.

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:43 pm
by mickkk

This is my tight arse way of doing it. Reckon it's pretty brilliant, maybe I should patent it. It is a mozzie net of a car awning. Can pick them up from that 4wd supa centre for around 100 bucks.
bl..dy hot as in side tho. Stops any breeze so you will need fans too, but that will be the same for what ever you go. Not real waterproof wither, but I just have a few tarps to put over our beds if it's raining.

Also started using those blow up air lounges that look so simply to catch the air. Worked pretty good, gets you up off the boat and into the breeze a bit. Need to be driving to blow the suckers up. It's not as easy as to makes it look. Packs away small.

Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:04 am
by fff1964
Awesome gents thats what i'm looking for thanks

Necessity is the mother of all invention.

keep em comming

Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:34 am
by Edo
mate got a cover like on that quintrex pictured above for a 6.5m boat made up here and cost him $1400

Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:21 pm
by garrynt
Have a look at 4 post bed mosquito nets on evil bay

Had one for a few years now, covers from bow to stern of the 4.55.
supported by bimini

Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:57 am
by JimmyTaylor
General Store sell large square and rectangular mozzie nets which fit most bimini covers, with enough drop to tie off around gunnels of boat..... I use a thermocell for the mozzies, it works a treat.

Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:08 am
by scottmac
Look for 'umbrella mosquito net' on eBay. About $50 I think from the states (mostly postage, buy two). Perfect to throw over canopy, been using mine for years. Won't help with rain though.

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:31 am
by notsolucky
I got this one made last week by Kevin at Seat City. He customised it so I still have access to half the casting deck for fishing while the mozzie net is up. Really well made and a good fella to deal with. Cost about 900 bucks so not cheap but should last a long time

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:09 am
by fff1964
Very nice there is some good stuff out there by the looks.

thanks for the post

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:50 pm
Awesome idea mickkk

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:46 pm
by mickkk
theodosius wrote:Awesome idea mickkk
Seems very easy had deeper pockets then I.
I thought it was one of my finer moments at around 1/10 of the cost