Fishing Sydney part 2

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:33 pm
by Agent86
Hi everyone

Just thought i’d put in an update of our trip to Sydney and the fishing that was had, unfortunately didn’t get too much in as did a fair bit of running around visiting Doctors and hospitals with 99, but managed to have a bit of fun, and the charter on the Harbour with Fishabout was great.

We left the Roseville boat ramp on Saturday about 6.30am and headed off down the Harbour to Balgowlah bay in search of some squid for live bait,
003_1.JPG
011_1.JPG
it was hard going but we did end up with a couple, a few Bonito and Tailor were feeding in a good bustup at one stage, we had a flick at them, 99 missed a couple, i had a good cast which went straight over a poor Turn in amongst the seagulls and i had to pull it in and untangle the poor thing, then the fish were gone of course!!! Damn missed again.

We decided to have a flick for flatties, i pulled out some sp’s and we had a go, not much happened, 1 small one just size landed by 99,
015_1.JPG
we then went over a school of fish on the sounder and what looked like some structure, new spot found for the guide, we tied up to the buoy nearest and had a go, managed to land 3 or 4 flatties with the plastics, couple more that were size,
017_1.JPG
the guide was surprised at the amount we caught, must have been our skill!!! Ha!! Also had a couple of tails bitten off, probly Tailor, but didn’t try with bait.
012.JPG
there were a few other keen fishos out having a go, saw one really nice bream landed from the rocks.

Then we headed back up the harbour
027_1.JPG
030_1.JPG
We stopped near Shark Island and dropped a live squid in to see if we could get a Kingie, i said to Allison, “you have a go first, i have already caught them” didn’t take 2 min and the bait was slammed and 99 pulled in a nice 75cm Yellowtail Kingie after a bit of a struggle, they go pretty good, she was pretty happy, another one off the bucket list, nice one too.
034_1.JPG
036_1.JPG
We had a go around a couple more spots but no joy, went back and had another flick for flatties and looking for fish feeding, but nothing. Made our way slowly back to the ramp, looked at a few spots, but no joy, still ended up being a good morning, got a good feed and at the ramp sounded like no-one else did any good, so we did ok.
Nice morning on the harbour, found a few new spots to try another time.
So if there is anyone in Sydney who has a boat and is keen to go out let us know, as we will be down fairly regularly i reckon.

We then headed off on Sunday down to Erowal bay to visit family, St Georges Basin.
Looked great when we got there, they have a place right on the water, had lunch, a few beers and some Champers, then i got the 4 piece rods out later in the arvo and rigged them, 99 and i trudged out about 100 metres through the thigh deep water to the dropoff to have a fish just before dark,

threw a few burley pellets around and had a go, got a couple of small Tailor on surface poppers, then had a go with some prawns for bait, i got 1 nice Bream about half a kilo and a good size whiting as well, the rely’s couldn’t believe the size of the bream i caught there just in front of the house!!, once again, must have been the skill!! They reckon they hadn’t caught any that size for ages, they have just recently stopped the pro’s netting in that area! Sorry forgot the camera for that evening.

Came back, had a nice dinner and a few reds, a good nights sleep contemplating the attack in the morning!!
We managed to get up about 6.30 and head out, water was a little chilly, loaded the old foam half surfboard up again and we were off.
002.JPG
Walked out to the edge and had a go, flicked the prawn bates in and were rewarded almost immediately with some nice Yelloweye mullet, perfect Barra lollies, but not too bad eating down there, and the rely’s reckoned they were good on the chew.
004.JPG
99 landed a double header of the mullet,
005.JPG
then managed to get a double header of Leather Jacket as well! Silly things, thinking they could have an easy feed and get away with it when the agents are fishing!!
007.JPG
Then i had a good take, it went sideways and i called it for a flattie, sure enough, a nice one too for that area, mmm sweet flathead fillets!
012.JPG
013.JPG
Getting close to brekky time, so 99 chucked a lure on to have a last go, i suggested a little hardbody and she started flicking it around, she was throwing it straight out over the edge, after a few throws and nothing, i suggested she chuck it sideways along the edge, first cast and bang, another nice little flattie, and her first on a hard body lure, yay.
015.JPG
016.JPG
We then gave it away, went in and had a shower to warm up, showed the young feller the Flathead, but he was a little unsure about them and definitely didn’t want to touch them! Even mentioned Croc at one stage, just hadn’t seen them before.
018.JPG
All in all a great couple of days fishing, the mother in law was pretty impressed with the fish we caught from the shore in front of the house, well nearly the shore! So that was a win. And we had a feed to take home, great!
Will be back there again i am sure, maybe next time i will be able to talk Uncle Rick into borrowing the dinghy to paddle out to the dropoff so we don’t have to get our nether regions wet, was a bit chilly!! :)

Re: Fishing Sydney part 2

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:13 am
crackin' post! looks like a lot of fun was had :mrgreen:

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:41 am
by nomad
You're just a fishing junkie!! Cant help yourself 8)
Say gday to 99 for me :D

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:37 am
by Agent86
Yep was great Matt and nomad

Had a ball, was even better after we went out for dinner with someone that cruises the Harbour a lot and he told us that there's no fish there. I forwarded him the post!!

The flatties down at Erowal bay reminded me of the Swan in Perth before moving up here a few years back!!

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:25 am
I dont think you can beat fresh flathead for the dinner plate. Makes me wish I was fishing my home town of Port Macquarie right now. Cheers for the report. That wasnt you at Darwin airport yesterday was it? I was picking my misses up off the Perth flight and thought I seen you

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:14 pm
by Agent86
Yes lats, came back from Perth yesterday 1.30 flight. 99 picked me up.

Unfortunately didn't get a fish in down there this trip

Maybe next time.

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:56 am
Gday 86
Thanks for another fantastic post,I grew up in Sydney and spent many a chilly morning around the harbour chasing Kings and tailor,my favorite spot was at
Nth Head,a place called "Old mans Hat" we use to backpack in with 5 blocks of pillies ,50 sets of 4gang hooks and about 4 or 5 rods each.

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:03 pm
by Agent86
No worries Jeff,

Brought back some memories for me too from the Swan in WA.

I can remember walking like you suggested a fair way with the gear to spots through sand hills near Perth to catch some great Tailor, and Salmon,lots of pillies used there as well!

Cold mornings beach fishing, didn't realize how many times you had stuck the gang hooks in your fingers while baiting up, cause they were half frozen as well! until they started thawing out and the fish guts got in them, yeow!