Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:24 pm Post subject: Jonesy's Victoria's fishing >>> Darwins, thread !!!
Ok,old habits die slow,so for the next few months my crappy fishing reports from down here will stay on FFF....You all know it's better down here anyway right?
Trying to acclimatise back into these arctic conditions has been a slow process all week,so thought I'd try and fast track the process and head up to Eildon and throw a few lures around at some dumb ex brood stock trout in the icy elements.
The weather didn't dissapoint,didn't get over 7 degree's before I left to come home at 1.30 pm,it wasn't far off snowing,plenty up in the hills around at the moment. Didn't stop raining either,not that you could call it rain,just misty drizzle and showers that was annoying.
Put in a squillion casts,I'd been getting nervous twitch's in my arm thinking I won't be able to cast lures again for a while so i needed a fix. It was dead all morning until on cast 2300000 a nice Brown grabbed the Pink tassie devil at my feet. Next cast,bang! Another one,two in two casts around the 4lb mark. "This is better than kakadu!". No more after that.
They're only ex hatchery fish that snobs creek release out of the hatchery after they've finished with them,so I'm pretty much cheating today,but in this weather i couldn't think of any better options with the rivers still closed.
Definately NZ Matt,if not Tassie. Our trout fishing in Vic isn't what it once was ,due to the never ending draughts,and the explosion of fisherman since Rex tripled it's popularity in the 90's. Still get good fish,but it's usually hard work. You'd normally be wrapped if you landed those two today if they were wild fish,but straight out of the hatchery tanks they're only a matter of time before they get caught as they eat anyting in there path.
I'm off too NZ in feb for a few weeks to see if I can remember how to use a fly rod? Will try and sneak a trip to Tassie in late spring also
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:51 pm Post subject:
Jonesy, It is definately freezing down their. I took 6 aboriginal students down to Melbourne on the weekend to go to the footy and I think Sunday was the coldest day that Melbourne had had all Winter and we were their to experience it.
A few years back I went upto Lake Dartmouth for 3 days and caught some solid browns. If anyone down south is looking for a scenic spot for trout, you can not go past it. We were trolling near the wall and the sounder was saying 460ft of water, but it would not be that deep now.
We trolled cow bells and ford fenders, which certainly sounds impressive if you are not into your trout fishing.
Anyway, keep up the good work Jonesy, and make sure you have your thermals on.
Haha,just got off the phone to a mate who's trying to talk me into going to Dartmouth next weekend,2 minutes later i read your post Dingo...freaky. I told him to stick it, I'm not camping in the near snow or sub zero frosts just yet .
It is a great spot though the Dart you're right. Used to go there a bit when I was younger
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:26 pm Post subject:
Great stuff Jonesy! I head up to the pondage once a year just to brain a few of the ex brooders. It's cheating really but still good fun. A great spot to try out new lures and techniques.
True Kenty. It is cheating really. It annoys me when the old man has all these big trout he has to paint from out of there. His mate mounts fish,and Dad does the painting for him. He gets all these pondage Trout that people are claiming as once in a lifetime fish .....it's a notch slightly higher than a trout farm fish,slightly
It's a bit of fun though,be nice to know within 24 hours when they've released a new batch
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:21 pm Post subject: .
Nice trout Jonesy, I was never a massive Eildon fan. Toolondo's fighting browns were my favorite. Its a pity that its been dry for near on ten years it used to produce some thumpers. Keep the reports coming its all good.