First Murray cod

Guns'n roses

First Murray cod

Post by Guns'n roses »

G'day guys,

Well I'm stuck down in Albury/wodonga for about a month, so when a mate asked me if I'd like to go for a fish with him I jumped straight on it. Well off to the local BCF I went and picked up a little spin combo with a stradic fj 4000 size reel and a shimano raider spin rod, I loaded it with 20lb fins grabbed some 40lb jinki leader a hand full of spinner baits and I was set. Plus I got my $6 48hr fishing licence.......
Anyway out to one of my mates property's for a bit of a walk along some steep banks. It was all long casts to snags and slow retrieves along the bottom, and we ended up landing 3 cod and a massive yellow belly and dropping two more fish for the day, it was all catch and release with barbless hooks but had to be my best ever southern fishing trip :fishing:

Re: First Murray cod

Nice work mate, th yellabely looks like you hit nit with a compressor, that's a faaat fish. :mrgreen:
graham.

result! nice fish!
sarrge

Post by sarrge »

Yellowbelly??

More like a soccer ball with a paint job. Nice fish!!
I used to have a handle on life.......then it broke.

thats a cracking yella....nice effort

Pretty markings on the cod when they're around that size eh!

mash

Post by mash »

Great looking fish looks like you had a great trip.
jersy

Post by jersy »

Nice haul GNR! That yellas a ripper!
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
Roadtrain

Post by Roadtrain »

Beautiful cod, great photo's.

Of all the fish i've caught the Murray cod and Trout is on my bucket list.

Lionel
Shitzngigglz

Post by Shitzngigglz »

not a bad cod for a first !!!!!!!!!
Wrighty

Post by Wrighty »

Nice mate.

Heading south in a couple months, also hoping to get onto my first cod.

Not a bad shirt either haha

Jarboy

Post by Jarboy »

bl..dy great day on the natives down south g&n, what river/creek?
Get your best grip..... www.thefishgrip.com.au
Pearcy

Post by Pearcy »

Nice fish
JayJay

Post by JayJay »

Nice Cod mate......Are they still in declining numbers????...or are they making a comeback???
I sleep with a rod in my hand...
Staggy7

Post by Staggy7 »

Good looking Cod and a stonker of a yella good work man