Highscores:13
Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:18 pm Post subject: Re: Interior lights
Bias sells them Balou. I brought the white and it came with a 2 switch system that you turn on your main switch operate and the other is a dimmer switch you turn on and can set the lights from dim to very bright.
_________________ It has always been my private conviction that any man who pits his intelligence against a fish and loses has it coming.
Give a man a fish, and he can eat for a day. But teach a man how to fish, and he'll be dead of mercury poisoning inside of three years.
“Fishing, with me, has always been an excuse to drink in the daytime”
"Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish."
Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:32 pm Post subject: Re: Interior lights
1982...Getting Quality marine to do it as part of the fit out in the new tub.
Doesnt look that hard but just dont have any time at the moment. Easiet way is grab a 12v source and lay it all out on the ground and plug everything in. then move it section by section into the boat I guess. I use to wire my multiple amp car-audio system this way when I was a young fella.
Change of plans, can't be bothered fitting these myself. Can anyone recommend someone? I am a bit fussy and don't want some half assed job ( hence why I am not doing it myself)
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:01 am Post subject: Re: Interior lights
The bloke at QM chopped my 8m in sections so I have light under the gunnels, under the center console and inside the 2 rear hatches. It changes from blue or white at a touch of a switch. I'm not sure of the exact cost but they said a 2-3 hours. ($330) It diffinitely look like 2-3 work involved.
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:57 am Post subject: Re: Interior lights
Just purchased the 10m strip of these http://www.superleds.com.au/marine/led- ... -kits.html. $168 + $8 P/H. Haven't fitted them as yet (lazy) but are IP68 rated and look the goods out of the box. Going to cut and lengthen the wiring so they'll be under the gunnels, center console and 1 in the live bait tank. When I finally extract the digit and get around to it! Will let you now the outcome. Reckon the remote control isn't such a good idea, it'll either go flat or overboard then they're useless. Will try and mod it so it can be hard-mounted and powered. Might also have to find blue or red clear paint if the insects get too bad.............
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:15 am Post subject: Re: Interior lights
I have $1 60cm strips from ebay they have been fine for over 2 years but there are better quality ones available these days, do some research on line. As for colors its up to you but as above red/blue/yellow are best for insects - in that order
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:15 am Post subject: Re: Interior lights
I have $1 60cm strips from ebay they have been fine for over 2 years but there are better quality ones available these days, do some research on line. As for colors its up to you but as above red/blue/yellow are best for insects - in that order
I used what was called a "soft white" under the gunnels of my 4.8. They have a purple tinge to them when turned on and don't seem to attract bugs more than any other light source. I had a red LED strip under the console and you can notice the difference in night vision.
With just the red on right under my face it is fine, but with the white it does diminish vision a little.
I got a sparky to wire it up, while he was re-wiring the boat and they are connected to the switch panel using two spare switches.
I think they look great...my mates take the pi$$ and call it the floating Disco!
Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:47 pm Post subject: Re: Interior lights
Mate I splashed out and got a set of korr marine LEDs. Bit more exxy but got a 2 year warranty and they are selectable and dim able between blue (for bugs and night vision) and white. Great kit simple to install IP 67. And an Aussie company.
_________________ 'Take me drunk, I'm home" Unknown
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth". John F. Kennedy
"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum" Adlai E. Stevenson
"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship". Forster, Edward
"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear" George Orwell
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end." by Anonymous
Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:48 am Post subject: Re: Interior lights
I fitted 8m korrs as well which I got at boat show for about $150 has a switch so does both blue and white & also a dimmer I got a 5m stacer side console and even had a few LEDs left over, easy enough to fit and seem to work a treat.