Best spot for fishing on the river murray

Learner

Best spot for fishing on the river murray

Post by Learner »

Hi everyone,
I am new to the forums and am from Adelaide.
I am new to fishing as well and looking for a good spot to fish on the murray river that doesn't require a boat.
Anything within a couple hours drive of Adelaide would be good but heading out to Renmark end of Feb :)

Thank you
:fishing: :catch:

Matt Flynn
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Re: Best spot for fishing on the river murray

Post by Matt Flynn »

Member on here called 'Shane Doevy' who has fished it a bit, and others, I'll send him a PM, he may share some info.
Learner

Post by Learner »

Hi Matt,
Thanks for the prompt reply. Appreciate it. Looking forward to the tips :)
Shane Doevy
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by Shane Doevy »

Lerarner - wlecome mate hopefully I can give you some ideas.

Not much help to you with regards land based spots within two hours of Adelaide but if you were to head to Murray Bridge you can finds loads of spots along the river to try for a fish. We used to use small hooks and the smallest sinkers we could as a rule. best boats are tiger worms and fresh shrimps or yabbies. As I say not familiar with the river around Murray Bridge but look for one of the tackle stores there and they should be able to point you to a likely spot. Shrimps can be caught in any of the normal traps usually night or day but sometimes they do get hard to get and when that happens they are best fished for at night. Thread a worm or two onto your hook then the shrimp - cast out and see what happens - likely catch is carp, possibly golden perch or yellow belly, silver perch - think they are still protected and last time I was on the river the eel tailed Powertail was around in numbers.