Reel Servicing Tutorials

LLCC

Reel Servicing Tutorials

Post by LLCC »

Hi Guys,

I've done a few step by step reel servicing tutorials and the links to them are as follows:

SERVICING – DAIWA TATULA TYPE-R 100XSL
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2014 ... -r-100xsl/

SERVICING – 2014 SHIMANO CALCUTTA CONQUEST 200/201
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2014 ... quest-200/

SERVICING – ACCURATE BOSS BX-400NX
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... -bx-400nx/

SERVICING – DAIWA Z2020 SH
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... -z2020-sh/

SERVICING – SHIMANO TALICA 8II
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... servicing/

SERVICING – SHIMANO AERNOS 1000FA
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... os-1000fa/

SERVICING – BOGAN SHARPEYE
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... -sharpeye/

FIRST IMPRSSION – ABU REVO VER3 STX 8.0
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... 3-stx-8-0/

SERVICING – SHIMANO ANTARES DC7
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... tares-dc7/

SERVICING – DAIWA ALPHAS R-EDITION
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... r-edition/

SERVICING – DAIWA ZILLION 100SH
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... ion-100sh/

SERVICING – SHIMANO TORIUM 16
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... torium-16/

SERVICING – ABU AMBASSADEUR 2500C
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... eur-2500c/

SERVICING – ABU AMBASSADEUR 4500C
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... eur-4500c/

SERVICING – JULY 1975 ABU AMBASSADEUR 5000
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... deur-5000/

SERVICING — ABU AMBASSADEUR 7000
http://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/2013 ... deur-7000/

Hope you find them helpful to take care of your reels.

LL

Lawrence Lee
https://gaspinggurami.wordpress.com/

a man sees what he wants to see and disregards the rest

Re: Reel Servicing Tutorials

Great website!!! Do you do requests?
Tropical IV

Post by Tropical IV »

Awesome.......thanks heaps for that....
trev4th

Post by trev4th »

just went through the ABU7000 tutorial, most comprehensive I have ever seen. Many thanks, it will mean I can resurrect an old favourite.
LLCC

Post by LLCC »

Thanks for the encouragement.

Jabsy, I'm from Singapore, so I may not have the model of reel that you request to see in a future tutorial. But if I can lay hands on one, sure I'd do a step by step tutorial if anyone requests.

Best,
Lawrence Lee

I was thinking of a charter special 1000/2000.
LLCC

Post by LLCC »

jabsy wrote:I was thinking of a charter special 1000/2000.
I've done one for the TR1000LD before. I'll go search for it and put it up if I can find it.

If I can't, I'll take some pics the next time I crack that open (most probably next year) when I use it.

I hope I can find the old tutorial.

Best,

LL
Lawrence Lee

cheers, that would be great.
Plate Size

Post by Plate Size »

great stuff and thanks lots. I got an oldie shimano aero 4500 baitrunner, still ok, pulls rough and grindy though, disected it a few times but not totally, cause the baitrunner drag system is a bit complicated after a few drinks :), youtube tutorials are a bit not spot on. so, I just did a half disect, clean and re grease sort of thing, now its on its way back to haul a few fishes :) I hope. you may have some advise about it. thanks in advance. 8)
btw my aero over the years snagged lots of fishes from year nineties, loaded with 30 pounds cheap monos on main spool and lately spooled the spare spool with cheap braid. shimanos was the greatest on cranking up dead weights until okuma and penn worked that out. what ya reckon?
thanks for the tutorials of servicing reels 8)
There is a strange feeling about land-based fishing that lures me back time after time.....by Jarrod Day @ fishingmonthly.com.au
liddsy

Post by liddsy »

excellence.. thanks
LLCC

Post by LLCC »

Plate Size wrote:great stuff and thanks lots. I got an oldie shimano aero 4500 baitrunner, still ok, pulls rough and grindy though, disected it a few times but not totally, cause the baitrunner drag system is a bit complicated after a few drinks :), youtube tutorials are a bit not spot on. so, I just did a half disect, clean and re grease sort of thing, now its on its way back to haul a few fishes :) I hope. you may have some advise about it. thanks in advance. 8)
btw my aero over the years snagged lots of fishes from year nineties, loaded with 30 pounds cheap monos on main spool and lately spooled the spare spool with cheap braid. shimanos was the greatest on cranking up dead weights until okuma and penn worked that out. what ya reckon?
thanks for the tutorials of servicing reels 8)
I'm sorry Plate Size, but I'm horrid at fixing spinners.

LL
Lawrence Lee

Gagey

Post by Gagey »

Thanks for the blog info Lawrence, well done. I was interested in your comments on the new conquest models, I have two '13 models the 200 and 400 and love them, performed well in PNG. Some times you have to wonder what the manufacturers are thinking, have a great product, tinker with it and screw it up.

Have a good day

Gagey
Plate Size

Post by Plate Size »

Plate Size wrote:
great stuff and thanks lots. I got an oldie shimano aero 4500 baitrunner, still ok, pulls rough and grindy though, disected it a few times but not totally, cause the baitrunner drag system is a bit complicated after a few drinks , youtube tutorials are a bit not spot on. so, I just did a half disect, clean and re grease sort of thing, now its on its way back to haul a few fishes I hope. you may have some advise about it. thanks in advance.
thanks for the tutorials of servicing reels

I'm sorry Plate Size, but I'm horrid at fixing spinners.

LL
It's ok LL . I think I'm going to use the aero a few more trips and retire it. It has done its job more than what's expected., aeros bait runners, best toy I ever had :clap:
There is a strange feeling about land-based fishing that lures me back time after time.....by Jarrod Day @ fishingmonthly.com.au
LLCC

Post by LLCC »

Gagey wrote:Thanks for the blog info Lawrence, well done. I was interested in your comments on the new conquest models, I have two '13 models the 200 and 400 and love them, performed well in PNG. Some times you have to wonder what the manufacturers are thinking, have a great product, tinker with it and screw it up.

Have a good day

Gagey
Hi Gagey,

I had a CQ 50 from 2012 and now the CQ200 2014. My only complaint for the old CQ 50 is its slow retrieve rate. We had aftermarket parts available for a while, to increase the gear ratio. But sadly, these parts lacked longevity and was discontinued. For the 2014 models I was initially disappointed to find the palming side plate which supports the spool shaft is mere plastic. However I had since revised my opinion that it can be weak.

I used it when the missus and I visited Darwin in May, jigging around Peron Islands, sight casting for barra at Finniss, Corroboree and Bynoe Harbour and it happily pulled blue salmons, cobia, barra, goldies, rock cod, trickies and tarpon. But what really changed my perception of the CQ200 was when we were booked by our agent for a "Blue Water" fishing trip from Darwin Harbour. I guess our definition of Blue Water Fishing is very different from the travel agent's and we found ourselves on a 14-person party boat going bottom bashing. :( So the Talica stayed in the bag and the CQ 200 was called to work slow pitch jigging for trevallies, spanish flag snappers and madaing with Tai Rubber.

I hit a silver javelin on tai rubber. On the way up, the fish got second wind and pulled hard and ran ffffffffffast. I figured some other fish had it in its mouth as one run can strip the CQ200 of 80-100 yards of line with drag cinched up full lock and my thumb on the spool for added friction. I took three of such blistering runs with me expecting the micro teeth of the pinion to be worn bare at any time. But it didn't happen and I brought the fish up close enough to see it was a 6ft Bronze whaler shark. It spat out my Javelin when leader was grabbed. But more important to me was whether that had wrecked the reel.

To my delight, I found that the reel was as smooth as before and it had suffered no harm from the experience. I also realised that the reel did not lose torque despite its plastic side plate. If anything, I feel it cranks better than previous model Conquests with the extra bearing (called X-ship) supporting the pinion.

So yes, you can say I'm pretty much impressed by the 2014 incarnation of Shimano's Calcutta Conquest. It's a strong cranking reel, buttery smooth beyond anything I had used before, lighter and more ergonomical than the previous model (the 200 feels much like a 100 in the hand both in weight and size and I have small hands), the drag is smooth and strong (6kg of stock drag for such a small reel is sufficient for me in most cases, and I know I can further mod it for more when I apply it for dirty fighters like cobia and Bornean black bass). With a ball bearing mod to micro SiC balls, I'm able to flick and pitch tiny lures as well as a smaller reel say the Daiwa Alphas 103 R-Edition. A Squidgie rigged weightless with a 4/0 worm hook casts as well as would the Alphas R-Edition. When I got back home and stripped down the reel, I found the pinion's micro teeth to be as good as new too.

In conclusion, I find the 2014 CQ200 to be a capable reel worthy of it's "Calcutta Conquest" name. The only complaint if any, that I have of this reel is its finish. I think the new "raw look" lacks the refinement and polish of its better dressed predecessors. But then, finish is just a matter of taste, so it's just an opinion that doesn't in any way make the reel perform any lesser.

HTH,

LL
Lawrence Lee

I Wish

Post by I Wish »

Nice review of the 2014 Conquest.

I have a new 101 with Hedgehog Studios spool bearings and am loving it. Bagged a few legals with it so far and cannot wait to see how it goes against a big girl.