Highscores:28
Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:20 pm Post subject:
If you have been monitoring the site then you would know That the road had officially (according to the website) been closed at the turnoff and that for a few days this week it stated that the road was closed from the 8.3km point on Woolianna Road.
As of this morning at 0700 when I checked it stated closed at the 5.3 km point on Woolianna Road, so I drove down and checked and the sign is right there at the end of the bitumen.
Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:23 pm Post subject:
Yes I agree, the info you provide Punter is great and i am not having a go at you.
I do question the accuracy of the info on the site. The Daly River Police say that this road has been closed for 3 days. That is not what the site has been saying.
It would be annoying to go there and find the road closed, but It's also just as annoying to look up the road conditions and see that they say the road is closed and not go. Then hear that it's open and that people are catching heaps of fish.
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:07 pm Post subject:
No worries JC, the main problem seems to be that the police don't enact the road closures yet they have to respond to those that ignore them.
The local council/civil works mob close the roads and as you say this is often not acurately indicated on the web site....I'd venture that it's an admin glitch......and one that could prove expensive and frustrating if you get caught out.
If I can help anyone out with what is actually in place on given days I don't mind having a look and asking around to see what the real situation is, just ask.
If the weather stays like this for too much longer it probably won't be a problem anyway!
_________________ Ricky Bobby: Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said..."I'm too drunk to taste this chicken."
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:30 pm Post subject:
Be warned the year before last I got pinged for going to the ramp when the road was officially closed.
I just drove in as normal at 3 in the morning, no worries only a little bit of water but fine.
It appears somebody kept chucking the road closed sign into the long grass. Ignorance is no excuse for not obeying the law I was told when I enquired, "read the web site". Bit hard when you are already out there.
What a joke "read the web site".
To the dills that chucked the sign into the bush Thanks we had a great days fishing down at the mouth just a same to come back and find a love letter on the windscreen.
I haven't been back to the Daly since so that should ease the fishing pressure down there.
Cheers Punter for the info.
_________________ A mans boat is a sign of his strengths and weaknesses???? (and wealth)
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:04 pm Post subject:
Thanks for the update in the area punter Keep up the good work
When the road to the ramp is closed where can you launch, is banya open
or can you launch from the crossing. Ive got a 5m plate boat towed with a hilux so any sand work is prety much out and I usualy fish with my young lad. Also how much further is it to the daly going down to Hayes creek first as the hilly road from adelaide is a pain when towing with my car.Any info would be apreciated
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:25 pm Post subject:
john d wrote:
Thanks for the update in the area punter Keep up the good work When the road to the ramp is closed where can you launch, is banya open or can you launch from the crossing. Ive got a 5m plate boat towed with a hilux so any sand work is prety much out and I usualy fish with my young lad. Also how much further is it to the daly going down to Hayes creek first as the hilly road from adelaide is a pain when towing with my car.Any info would be apreciated
G'day mate.
There are a few variables.
You can't launch at the crossing once Tommy's creek is 50cm over the road 'cause they then lock the gate at the 5 mile..(just down from the wooli rd turnoff about a klick)
At the minute the only place you could launch would be Banyan Farm 'cause the road is "officially" closed just past his gate where the bitumen ends.
Early last week a few blokes were launching from the side of the road a bit further down.
When the culvert between the school and Banyan is at 50cm I believe the road is shut from the turnoff.
The biggest factor now will be the condition of the road past he bitumen 'cause of flooding.....I wouldn't presume it will open too quickly so keep an eye open in the right places.
There were some sections that were heavily eroded last season so I s'pose it will have to be checked and declared safe.
_________________ Ricky Bobby: Well let me just quote the late-great Colonel Sanders, who said..."I'm too drunk to taste this chicken."
Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:42 pm Post subject:
Banyan Farm ramp is closed because it has a wash out near the top & will not open until the river drops enough to make repairs. I was going to go down today but had to cancel as there was no access to the river by trailer boat.
_________________ Smile, be happy & go fishing.
Work is getting in the way of my fishing.
My boss says fishing is getting in the way of my work.
I will soon fix both of our problems by quitting.