Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:42 am Post subject: Yabbies
Who has lived down south and spent time catching yabbies?
I used to live in Adelaide and we could catch good ones in the smallest city creeks using a lump of meat on a string. I imagine they would be under more pressure in the city creeks now, although farm dams and the Murray River probably still have heaps.
We cooked them up in salty water and they were good tucker. I'll have to take the young one redclaw or cherabin fishing as soon as she is old enough, coz it's great fun.
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:10 pm Post subject:
I lived in that cold place (vic) for ages and yeah yabbies are great fun to catch, so many different methods to catching them and they all work! Great chewing and i also used to catch and eat the eels from the dam's, must keep occupied...
One of the great childhood pastimes. Bit of meat on some cotton,waiting for the cotton too tighten,then very slowly pulling the yabby in,inch by inch,waiting to see the antenae appear from the murky water,then one quick swoop with the hand flicking them out of the water and onto the bank.
My auntie had a big farm farm in southern NSW,which was full of dams that were riddled with yabbies. They were great memories. Unfortunatly they aren't there in the numbers they used to be,due to drought I guess.
Funnily enough when I had a look at scotts ck yesterday,there was a family there messing about,and they caught a massive one with there hands. The bloke said they are millions of them in a few more weeks,getting them with a cast net. Wouldn't mind a go at it myself,but the signs on the way in say no nets or traps.
Are there any other good spots around for them?
I love a feed of any crustacean,yabbies,prawns,crays,crabs,cherabin,murray crays.
Here's a pic of some crays from the Murray in july 04.
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:04 pm Post subject: Red-Claw
I used to clean up on redclaw down stream from the howard Iron Bridge. Used to use the same method. Sit on a log and drop a bit of meat down on a string. Good fun and good tucker. Put them in a bin of clean water for a few hours. The the mud comes out of them and they taste better. Only used to catch them in the dry season but.
Up the adelaide there is millions of Cherabin. Dog or Cat biscuits in a pot do the trick. Really have to have them in at night time and check them at night.
Jason
_________________ ...............Wishin' I was fishin'...............
Images:35 Location: Stalking some Gill Netting criminals that are killing Sawsharks in Fog Bay and Embarrising Ministers
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:59 pm Post subject:
.........that's a great looking feed, damn they look good, i'm going down to get some prawns from Morgan's Seafood at Scarbourgh for tea...
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:38 pm Post subject: yabbies
Yeah Matt I lived on the Murray and we used to get some good feeds but it was years between them, you could always get some in the summer from the irrigation channels around the place but they only seemed to realy fire up after a good flood and then we mainly got them out of creeks more than the river itself , can say I never used the meat on a string trick only drop nets or operahouses with meat scraps from the butcher or carp for bait.( or galah or emu or roo).
When they were on it was easy to head out in the morning and be back home with a wheat bag full by 1.00. Some blokes would take bags and bags but you can only eat so much and altough I could eat a lot they were not as nice once frozen so just took a reasonable amount. There is bag limits on them now. Personally I reckon they are the best seafood you can get.
Hears a pic of the good old beerbottle size blueclaw
Cheers Flicker
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ you don't know if you don't give it a go
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 8:36 pm Post subject:
heres a feed i got from the creek which runs out the back of my pops place usally get a good feed after 2 days or so - and yes i have used meat tied to a string and a scoop net and got a couple but very slow.
jordan doevy
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ schools what i do in between fishing
The missus comes from Heywood in western Vic. the locals there all have their secret dams with lots of yabbies,sure are good tucker and some good sized ones also.