Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:15 pm Post subject: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Gday guys after getting a good haul of yabbies from temora this year i decedid to try and bring some up to darwin to keep in aquariums. The old girl had some left over foam boxes from the chrisco hampers so i kept about 40 yabbies spread out between 4 boxes they have been alive for about 20 days now in the boxes ive rigged up an airator and 4 way valve system to air stones in each box and they seem to be doing quite well with regular water changes each day or two and are eating more than i expected. Surviving the drive from temora to the gold coast. Lately a couple of them have gotten a little territorial and killed each other so i have separated them again and now have about 25 left. Has anyone kept yabbies in darwin or heard of it before. Also is it legal. Ive searched fisheries and googled it all but cant find anything saying i cant bring them up. Hopefully atleast 10 survive the trip back home to darwin startimg on the 7th. then i will just have to find some aquariums to keep them in once up there
_________________ The ones who fight for their beliefs are those who achieve their dreams.
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:06 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
hey davey d
i keep yabbies all summer in the heat.....ive tried heaps of differant ideas but here is what i know works
keep them in your box with say half a inch of water and if u want keep your air filter going....put some rocks .poly pipes ect...so they have plenty of cover or hiding spots...it stops the fighting if they have cover
if you have hesian sacks cut them up and soak them with water and throw them in your box
keep the lid on the box and make sure it has air holes
you need to change the water still every 2 or 3 weeks still
now this may be the hard part......find the coldest place to keep them/ or transport them
we have some 40 plus days here during the summer and i keep most alive...but it may be harder for you in darwin
cheers bm
_________________ you have to have crack even if your just pissin in the wind
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:24 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Davey D wrote:
Gday guys after getting a good haul of yabbies from temora this year i decedid to try and bring some up to darwin to keep in aquariums. The old girl had some left over foam boxes from the chrisco hampers so i kept about 40 yabbies spread out between 4 boxes they have been alive for about 20 days now in the boxes ive rigged up an airator and 4 way valve system to air stones in each box and they seem to be doing quite well with regular water changes each day or two and are eating more than i expected. Surviving the drive from temora to the gold coast. Lately a couple of them have gotten a little territorial and killed each other so i have separated them again and now have about 25 left. Has anyone kept yabbies in darwin or heard of it before. Also is it legal. Ive searched fisheries and googled it all but cant find anything saying i cant bring them up. Hopefully atleast 10 survive the trip back home to darwin startimg on the 7th. then i will just have to find some aquariums to keep them in once up there
Davey, mate you will be in seeeeerious poop if you get caught bringing them into the NT..Just checked on Quarantine site and definitely a nono. for info ring 0889994582, or fisheries on 0889992144. hate to see you ruin a good trip. graham
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Last edited by olfart on Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bank:
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:42 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Just keep the local Redclaw instead mate. Plenty of them, very nice looking and not as aggressive as Cherax Destructor. You can catch Redclaw all around Darwin in any of the local freshwater ponds or creeks and they keep well in a tank.
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:03 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Hmm that has really killed my mood. Was looking forward to keeping these guys alive have already spsnd a good amount of time and money on them. Just wanted something to remind me of good times back home might have to give em a call tomorrow to find out the info
_________________ The ones who fight for their beliefs are those who achieve their dreams.
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:16 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Sorry about the mood mate, but it'd be a helluva lot gloomier if you got your arse in a sling over it.. Cheer up!! you'll be home soon. god left ya seat vacant.
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:48 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
Yep guess i will have to settle for some damn redclaw. Still yet to catch those buggers even tried diving for them in kununurra about 2 months ago. Anyone know anyone that wants some yabbies for aquariums in gold coast area? And does anyone know why we cant take em to the NT guess it would be the same reason as the redclaw problem?
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:08 pm Post subject: Re: keeping freshwater yabbies in darwin
"keeping fresh water yabbies" - Easy to keep - Here the recipe, 1 good sealing glass jar (clean of course) liberal amount of pepper and salt, cover Yabbies with sweet spiced viniger, can add to taste, garlic paste, chilli flakes etc. Refrigerate for several weeks, get out serveral chilled bruskies , jatz biscuits and pig out Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Works down here in the south