The best Powertail spot

Words hardly describe the feelings when sighting colour from a trophy powertail
thetimsons

The best Powertail spot

Post by thetimsons »

Get down to shady with the lightest gear you can find and head to the mouth. Drop down some squid on an incoming, auctually anytime and hang on. you really have to play those big ones on really light gear. i especially love it on those $20 combos from kmart. They rule 8-) 8-)
It gets really funny when someone comes down the river when you have one of these powertails in tow! i have had allmost a crowd stop for like 20 mins just to watch me pull in a powertail. i think they thought it was a barra :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
:captain: Eddie :captain:

Try the mouth of the Finniss of the bank for land based powertails. Live mullet works great. :fishy: The biggest powertail I,ve got from the bank was a whopping 120 cm. :shock: Catches of a couple of dozen are common. :catch:

My best powertail was on light gear and was just over a meter and about 12 kg up from Goat Island. :catch: :catch: :catch: :catch: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Added a couple of lovely specimems one from fresh and one from salt. Boy they really make a days fishing worth while. :naughty: :naughty:

PT spots

Dick might be able to clarify this, But I remember reading somewhere that Lake Argyle was full of monster powertales. If anyone is heading for a PT trip, this could be a goer and as far as I am aware you wont get many barra in there getting in your way.

Whirly

Post by Whirly »

Last time I was there, Lake Argyle was chockers with Powertail - though the locals made up some stupid, fictional name for them, probably to discourage the hoards from flocking to such a glorious mother lode of the beauties. I tend to recall they referred to them as Silver Cobler or some such nonsense over there...

But seriously - as my mate Will says "A rose by any other name......"
Where am I going and why am I in this handbasket?
ntfishn

Advise needed on Argyle Powertails...

Post by ntfishn »

Doing a road trip over to the West in July. Told the missus that I'm happy to go, but only if we can do a stop over to Lake Argyle for a crack at those trophy Powertails....
Does anyone know if there are any guides that specialise in targeting Powertails on the lake?
If there are not any Powertail guides, do you guys who are in the "know" think that land based with 200pnd should be enough for the monster's or should I try get something a bit stronger?
Is it true that the fish in there have been known to get over the 100pnd mark!

Any advise much appreciated...

Cheers TIMBO... :mrgreen:

Doing a road trip over to the West in July. Told the missus that I'm happy to go, but only if we can do a stop over to Lake Argyle for a crack at those trophy Powertails....
Does anyone know if there are any guides that specialise in targeting Powertails on the lake?
If there are not any Powertail guides, do you guys who are in the "know" think that land based with 200pnd should be enough for the monster's or should I try get something a bit stronger?
Is it true that the fish in there have been known to get over the 100pnd mark!
There is only one man who can answer these questions in detail. His knowledge and cunning is unique but his secretiveness about the powertail spots is legendary. He only posts here on an irregular basis but the words and pictures are always pure gold.

Or you could forget his advice and just lob down there at the lake and chuck out a hunk a squid like, anywhere :mrgreen:

Lake Argyle powertails are numerous but the pros give them heaps. Now Lake Kununurra's pts, they're just awesome :wink: