FFF Seadogs 2017 - Round 1 - The Run-Off

Daz12

Re: FFF Seadogs 2017 - Round 1 - The Run-Off

Post by Daz12 »

Just got back from a day and a bit trip to the South.
Broke the 2017 Barra drought with about half a dozen, the best being 67cm. Fished upstream and caught a mix of Barra, Saratoga and Tarpon. And only saw a couple of other boats, unlike Shady today apparently... :o

Nice fish, lucky to get the South almost to yourself!
Marro

Post by Marro »

Upgrade - such a beaut morning decided to hit the harbour for a few hours. We picked up three smallish Barra with the best being 57. No giant but it's an upgrade and dinner tomorrow night.

Tasty upgrade, good ol' harbour :mrgreen:
BarraBob

Post by BarraBob »

First barra for the year 57cm. Got a few this size and smaller up the Adelaide yesterday. Had a good morning session.
Brad the Lad

Post by Brad the Lad »

headed to Shady camp on Thursday, ill post a trip report shortly with more details.

landed two barras at the one feeder creek downstream from the S Bends.

biggest was 65cm.
fishing and beers,

wonder what the poor people are up to!!!

76cm shady camp. Taken on a rubber flicking Saturday morning

FFF Seadogs 2017 - Round 1 - The Run-Off ... two days left

Decky's barra from today up the South. 63cm. Biggest of 9, all on small rubbers.
joesgotone

Post by joesgotone »

Another great day on the water. Had a tonne of fun and caught a few fish. most undersize but still good fun. Conditions have changed alot since my last trip in Dec with lots of sand relocated and some areas dug out. Always good to have new challenges and surprises.
20170226_081332.jpg
A 72cm fish. A little dark but hope its not an escapee from the fresh.
20170226_081337.jpg
The secret spot
20170226_081513.jpg
The selfie. I think I need a selfie stick, I missed a few times. There are few spare stick in the background.

Of course all the fish I lost today must have had a tag in them as they are the only ones I loose.

Still I am very happy with my new birthday pressie a Daiwa steez. Great way to christen the reel.
how many is enough lures, rods and reels. Is there a magic number, considering you usually only catch 1 fish on a single lure on the one rod and reel your casting with.
Big Col

Post by Big Col »

Got this 85cm from shady on Wednesday :wink:
Then a so called mate knocked a big girl off with the net at the side of the boat :banghead: probably around the meter mark!
That's fishing :cheers:

G'day FFF'ers

I nabbed this 66cm barra the other day at the Freshwater Finniss, casting a Little Lucifer,

He was fat and happy, and lucky too, coz he got returned to fight another day......
P1170439.JPG
P1170433.JPG

Ivan

Post by Ivan »

I didn't think I would get out this month but I managed a quick trip in the harbour on Saturday and got this huge 25cm horse. I guess its better then a doughnut but not by much. Slightly bigger then the blue spearhead I caught it on.
jonr

Post by jonr »

There is only one thing better than landing a meter + barra ... that is when your kids get the chance to. My son who is 12 got his first one last year ... but this month I was able to put my daughter on a 107. she was very excited as you can imagine. The barra was caught in Shoal bay on a 8" soft plastic.

ps. Matt has seen the original brag matt photo and this one and approved its use...

Nice fish!

FFFer 'Barrabustin' has given notice that he is fishing tonight and might post it tomorrow.