Dundee today

After being away with work for the last two months, we decided to hit Dundee Beach to get back onto some Pelagics with these tides. Well, the launch was interesting, I think we just got in before they closed the launches due to someone getting wrecked on the rocks. Anyway, after that we headed out in search of some Pelagics and weren't dissapointed with heaps of Spaniards, mackies, cobia, tuna and a couple of trout. Good fun day out and an easier retrieve that arvo.

Re: Dundee today

Great trip!

Nice work Skip , lucky you got out OK by the sounds of things .
My mates went down and came back home as did a lot of others.

Good haul mate :mrgreen:

What a great trip. Smashed it

Great trip, well done.

Good trip - better than mine to bynoe and beyond

Well done, I hear the launch can be a bit ordinary at the moment!

theodosius wrote:Well done, I hear the launch can be a bit ordinary at the moment!
Yeah it is. We were the third boat launched for the morning and due to the angle of the beach (now the rock wall has gone) the waves at high tide were surging and making it diffucult to sumberge the trailer without taking a wave over the back of the boat. The best bet was to disconnect the boat, hope it didn't slide off too early and then get slingshotted in by the tractor after the wave.

I heard they closed the lauches about half hour after we launched due to a bloke getting washed onto the rocks. ABC tales from the tinny also put up a failed retrieve video from later that afternoon.

I'm hoping we can launch this weekend so I can do an overnighter at the Perons 8)

Great report :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Back in the day when the Arafura GFC comps were held at Dundee, watching people launch and retrieve was part of the fun ... until it was your turn.

Boats were sometimes rammed against trailers sideways, or onto the beach. Incredible how heavy a small tinny is when a wave fills it up.

My favourite was being wedged between the tyres along the side of the ramp, with boat on top.

People still went fishing though, but were a bit more careful about the weather.

Then there was the dodgy mettwurst day ... lots of good memories.

Wasn't that long ago when a Dundee trip was along a goat track, I believe Greg Chan was a pioneer out there, reports of really big barra around those drying rocks in the early days.

Nice fish there Skipper. Weather was perfect
Chubbs93

Post by Chubbs93 »

Great trip mate