Week at the Perons

sanigav

Week at the Perons

Post by sanigav »

With a windy start to the dry I thought I'd organise a four day trip to Channel point to get us as close to the action without having to travel great distances in the rough weather. The wind was a bit of a factor in the afternoon but was quite calm in comparison to the willyweather predictions. On day 1 we had some fun with small queenies in shallow water between the North and South island, then stayed out at batemans shoal a little too long and RAN AGROUND at the boat ramp!! i knew it would happen one day. We hit a nasty oyster bommy about 50 metres from the ramp. For anyone keen to go to channel point for the first time it's worth sighting the hazard at low tide, which is on the right hand side as you walk down the boat ramp.
image.jpeg
Anyway we managed to free ourselves before the midgies found us, but decided it would be best to stay out for the night until the high tide. We caught some nice reefies in shallow water at the north island, with the famous jew hole producing 1 dirty Powertail. I could tell the boys were doubting my promises of good fish. To add insult we also lost the anchor on day 1 due to the road corrugations loosening the anchor swivel. Lucky we brought a spare.

On day 2 we hit the water in the avo and found some fickle bust ups along the way to a FFF mark off point blaze. This produced some great hookups to Mack tuna, which provided perfect fresh bait for a hot cobia bite later that night. I caught this one on light gear which rendered me pretty much spent for a few hours. The bust ups provided us with great clues about undiscovered reef, with us often discovering structure in the vicinity of the diving birds.

Day 3 produced some ripper reefies including coral trout, my first emperor and plenty of the snapper varieties. Tried to fish some of the contour lines out deep but could not find anything decent on the sounder. This was in contrast to what we were seeing closer to the island, so we returned to try and find a special reefie or pelagic. The sounder screenshots were so pornographic that I decided to make a facebook page called sounder porn for all people to show off their arcs. here's a link if you want to join! https://www.facebook.com/groups/1651378811853868/

Day 4 we drifted over some marks we had discovered in previous days that were holding fish, then changed our tactics and decided to troll two diving lures at varying depths. The majority of our hookups were mack tuna but the spaniards also turned up, and towards the end of the morning we managed to pull in this big guy.
image.jpeg
For a fleeting moment we had a sailfish approach the boat and all i had in reach was a light rod with a gillies baitfish lure. He wasn't interested but was still great to see him in the water. I found that we had heaps more hookups using leader compared to trace.

Overall it was an absolute ripper of a trip, but the biggest lesson learnt would be that you need to come prepared with spare tackle, tools, and relatively warm gear as it was significantly cooler at night in comparison to Darwin.
Last edited by sanigav on Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:32 pm, edited 10 times in total.

Finatic2

Re: Week at the Perons

Post by Finatic2 »

Great job sounds like a ripper of a trip
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!

Great trip report mate :mrgreen: always something on offer down there.
and I too have found that nasty patch near the ramp.

Cool pics and good times ,,, cheers 8)

Thanks for the report. I was thinking of getting out for an overnighter but the wind is a nightmare
great fish but the sounder pics are terrible - i cant even see the gps marks :twisted:
feel free to pm me with the details.

Awesome, would love to get out there one day!

Great report, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the report mate awesome. Any goldies about???

Some quality fish :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Great report, definitely a few nice fish there

Love the place

Well done!

sanigav

Post by sanigav »

yep came across a few goldies bouncing at the northern end of the island but definitely more trickys compared to goldies. gonna head back to troll for the illusive sail in a couple of weeks. fingers crossed!

Great stuff Sanigav. Been a long time since I came across a school of good goldies, years in fact. Definitely sails out there, just have to have the wind in your favour. We are also going down on the last week of the school holidays for 4 days. Might give some of those creeks a go if its too rough out in the blue. Never fished them before.
BarneyRubble

Post by BarneyRubble »

NICE!!! Welldone!