The biggest fish i haver ever landed

bigcroc

The biggest fish i haver ever landed

Post by bigcroc »

The ride heading out towards Sail city .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFLiDPX4leM
the hook up feels like a Lemon but a lot more head shakes we all called it a big toothy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9oeWuyyJVg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BgtAFIvJi7I
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip-ZbnEM0yM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnA0bg-gzgs

I feel we did everything we could to release her as safe as possible ,not having any experience catching such a large creature i was unsure what to do but i new we had to release the air from her wind bag .
Thanks again to Hottuna for helping us out .After you left we made 1 last atemp to vent the air from her belly and she opened her huge eyes and started to open her gills we swam her for 30 mins or so and then she gave a big swoosh and she was gone
Thinking back now if i ever catch another one as soon as i see it i would cut the line ,the fact that i pulled 4 sinkers and six hooks from her mouth maybe i should have just left them there. :banghead: :banghead:

Re: The biggest fish i haver ever landed

I can't watch vids at the moment coz of my internet connection, can you post a nice screenshot for me :D
bigcroc

Post by bigcroc »

not sure if this will work Matt :o

Geez, what an epic fish! Amazing!

Bit spooky swimming with an injured fish though?!?

bigcroc

Post by bigcroc »

Yer i know ozdodge i didnt even know he went over the side till he swam into view .Dumb arse move and to many red cans ,I think he was just trying to impress the girls in the other boat oh and the channel nine camera rotflmfao

Can't watch the bid either ATM. What was the fish?

bigcroc

Post by bigcroc »

Gday Scottie how you going mate , QLD grouper and guess what we didnt run out of fuel

What a giant, imagine having that swim up to you while scuba diving
fishhunter81

Post by fishhunter81 »

Looks like you've got this years knot-tying award in the bag! Well done on the release effort too.

Best way is to tie a thin bit of line to the anchor with a tiny hook that can be straightened or line that can be broken. Lower anchor and fish gently back to bottom and break line or hook with a short sharp jig of rope after it has bèn down for a minute or two. This gets the air to compress again and the fish isnt floundering on the surface. Dont know if they survive but it gives them half a chance at least being on the bottom with the pressure returned to normal.
bigcroc

Post by bigcroc »

Thanks heaps for that cuddlescooper
Gibbsy

Post by Gibbsy »

That is impressive well done and great effort releasing such a great fish

cuddlescooper wrote:Best way is to tie a thin bit of line to the anchor with a tiny hook that can be straightened or line that can be broken. Lower anchor and fish gently back to bottom and break line or hook with a short sharp jig of rope after it has bèn down for a minute or two. This gets the air to compress again and the fish isnt floundering on the surface. Dont know if they survive but it gives them half a chance at least being on the bottom with the pressure returned to normal.
Nice thought but I'm pretty sure the damage is done by the time they get to the surface. The gut being so distended just displaces and squashes internal organs to the point of no return. They might look OK swimming away but I think the survival rate is minimal.

Not having a crack at anyone, it's just the way it is. You don't have much say in what jumps on out there and we all feel, better watching them swim away I just don't think too many end up surviving long term.

Like Fishunter said, at least you know you tie a good knot :mrgreen:

Was quite a bit of study done on this and the way fisheries suggested is to put a knife point in the side behind the pectoral fin to let the air out. Puncturing the protruding stomach is no good.

Still likely to be internal damage but it gives them a chance.
bugged1989

Post by bugged1989 »

Ive seen a friend use a hollow needle from the Vet / Docs and puncture the fish to release the air, seemed to be a bit gentler than a bacteria ridden knife!
" Peace and Quiet - Loud and Obnoxious more like"