Reel size for Darwin Billfishing

If you are into billfish, this is your home.
Makrel
Gold Member
Gold Member

Reel size for Darwin Billfishing

Post by Makrel »

I am a newby to chasing Billies and I am keen on getting a Tiagra to be part of my arsenal to chase billfish. Originally I liked the 12a spooled with braid. Now I am thinking the 30a with 15kg mono.

I would like opinions regarding what I need for our waters.

Basically this will be the big outfit in the spread. Others will be spin rods with a Saltiga 6500, Catalina 5000, Stella 10000, and a Saltiga 4500.

A sneaky second question is - I am thinking of mounting the tiagra on a good Jigging rod (I have a nice Jigging Master model in mind). I l;ike the action of jigging rods and I dont see why they would not be perfect for this use.

Any advice appreciated.

trevor schultz
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Re: Reel size for Darwin Billfishing

Post by trevor schultz »

Tiagra ' s are nice we run two 50wlrsa on the corners these are a bit over kill up here but good for trips away to the big girls. we have caught some good marlin on tyrnos 30 2 speeds up here and they had plenty of line still on them during the fights. A tiagra 30 would be well suited up here I reckon. But only with mono you to big a reel for braid.
Simmo83
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by Simmo83 »

it really depends on where you plan to chase them? if you're sticking to the gutters and off Dundee then the Tiagra 16's are spot on loaded with 10kg line for the sails and rat blacks that seem to be tagged, if you plan to head wide out to Bathurst the Tiagra 30WLRSA's spooled with either 750m of 15kg or 500m of 24kg would be the go. I'm now running Tyrnos 30 singles for mine as I sold all my bling before I got here (I had 3 30WLRSA's and 2 50WLRSA's on top of 2 little 12's loaded with 8kg)