a Quick overnighter

Finally made it out after doing lots of work around the new place and having all sorts of things on to Interrupt the fishing :banghead:

With the school holidays last week I managed to head out of Buffalo late Wednesday arvo across to Apsley Strait between the Tiwis for a bit of a fish. the weather was pretty good on the way out and calmed even more once we got offshore a bit.
The boys down the back took a few good pics as the sun set in the west, Jordan (Smartypants) even got a selfie as we were cruising along, the new tum 'DeLyght' handled the chop well and we cruised along at around 35kph.
IMG_6386.JPG
Alex (Live Bait) lying on the floor resting
IMG_6390.JPG
selfie..lol
IMG_6392.JPG
Dylan chilling down the back
IMG_6394.JPG
Nice Sunset
IMG_6405.JPG
We got to about 10km from the mouth of Apsley and a Norwester blew straight at us, slowed us up a bit and didn't make it till just after dark, cruised up the Strait to the first chosen spot
had slightly missed the change of tide due to the slower trip, but as soon as we dropped our lines down we were rewarded, Jordan was the first to get a nice sized Goldie up.
IMG_6421.JPG
Dylan had one soon after
IMG_6424.JPG
We managed a few more, as we were sitting in fairly shallow water up on a ledge along the edge of the dropoff, we let a few smaller ones go. Within an hour we had 6 good goldies in the esky
and the tide had started to run a little faster due to the big tides, so we pulled up and headed off a bit further up the Strait. Anchored up on another mark and were going to wait for the change of tide for the low
but we were all pretty stuffed and passed out.

The morning came and we got up just as the tide started moving out a little, dropped the lines in and were rewarded immediately with another couple of good fish.
I managed a ripper first up, the best Goldie for the trip went just over 77cm and gave a good account of itself. Have caught a few that size now in the area and they are great to catch.
IMG_6425.JPG
Dylan hooked a monster something which peeled his line out and broke him off, suspect a big ray or Lemon shark.

the boys managed a couple more smaller ones, the tide started screaming past so we headed off to find some creeks to have a go in.
IMG_6429.JPG
With the huge tides 7.56 down to 0.32 there was bait everywhere, unfortunately we didn't come across any Barra or Jacks feeding
we managed a few smaller fish up one of our regular creeks and had a bit of fun with them.
Alex had a ball casting from the front of the boat at the snags and little drains
IMG_6433.JPG

Headed back and had a drop at the change of low tide in the deep hole hoping for another big goldie or a jew, but no joy, just sharks and Powertail

so we headed south down the Strait to make our way back across to Buffalo just after dark. It was a little choppy again on the way back with the easterlies blowing
but we had a good trip and ended up with 10 nice fish for a feed.

Dinner Sat night was beer battered Goldie, Yum
WP_20150208_016.jpg
Another great trip with the boys in DeLyght, with many more to come
hope to get out again soon and head to the Perons for a cruise :-)

Re: a Quick overnighter

That's awesome Dennis. I see you're investing in your future. Eventually Livebait will be taking Dad out fishing :mrgreen:

Well done

Top trip mate ,,the 77 goldie is a cracker :applause:

Well done gang ,,, :mrgreen:
Anon

Post by Anon »

Well done mate, cracker of a goldie
steve29

Post by steve29 »

Awesome fish mate well done kids use dis well

Looks like a great trip, well done.
pms

Post by pms »

Great story.

Good stuff 86

Lats wrote:That's awesome Dennis. I see you're investing in your future. Eventually Livebait will be taking Dad out fishing :mrgreen:
Yeah Lats, already got 1 trained, don't have to clean the boat or gear anymore when I get home :D
jeffish wrote:Top trip mate ,,the 77 goldie is a cracker :applause:

Well done gang ,,, :mrgreen:
Yeah Jeff, will have to go for a cruise that way again soon :)

We had a ball, even with a bit of wind going and coming it was awesome, mightn't do such big tides next time though.

fishhunter81

Post by fishhunter81 »

That's a stonker of a goldy! Great to see the young lads getting into it; and having the extra numbers to influence the judge & jury can't hurt either......
Wombles

Post by Wombles »

Great trip mate...cracking goldie
Life is like a box of lures...you never know which one to pick!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FuZTJol4K0
Finatic2

Post by Finatic2 »

The Tiwi legend strikes again. Nice work Dennis
Fish stories told here....some true !!!

When in doubt...exaggerate !!
Dinger

Post by Dinger »

Great stuff :mrgreen:

Awesome trip Dennis with some enviable results. Can't complain about any oft the hose fish. Well done! :clap: