Side Console Ideas.

G'day all, I'm looking at getting a new console for my boat. It's a TABS Territory Pro and the console on it isn't good for much. It has a curved fiberglass top, so therefore nowhere to mount a decent sounder etc.

So I'm sniffing around for ideas on the perfect console for my needs. Space for a good size sounder, stereo, gauges all the usual stuff. Also draws, maybe lure tray slots, front door, etc.

So post up your ideas, photos, designs etc on the perfect side console. I've got a few ideas, but I've never been much good at visualizing things. I'd much rather poach ideas off those out there more clever than me. :roll: also what hasn't worked for some and things to avoid.

Any recommendations of good Ally fabricators experienced in boat mods, that won't clean out the bank account most welcome! :mrgreen:

Cheers for any advice, Scotty.

Re: Side Console Ideas.

Glad you put this to the FFF brains trust.

I'll set the pace with my setup, a lump of 4x2 with other timber offcuts, engineered to be unsquare and painted with leftover Solarguard grey paint.

Should have used a stainless hinge, but they were expensive :D

You did ask :lol:
NT Wombat

Post by NT Wombat »

I dont think you'll find a better set up than that. Problem solved in 1 post. Might have trouble finding a tradie that would put his name to it though...
ADRNLN

Post by ADRNLN »

Hay Scottie

I've seen a few consoles come from Jai at Custom concepts and had some work done by him as well. For Ideas he is the man and quality work as well

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Custom-C ... 04?fref=ts

Matt Flynn wrote:Glad you put this to the FFF brains trust.

I'll set the pace with my setup, a lump of 4x2 with other timber offcuts, engineered to be unsquare and painted with leftover Solarguard grey paint.

Should have used a stainless hinge, but they were expensive :D

You did ask :lol:
Cheers mate, but I'm not looking for something as upmarket as that.

ADRNLN wrote:Hay Scottie

I've seen a few consoles come from Jai at Custom concepts and had some work done by him as well. For Ideas he is the man and quality work as well

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Custom-C ... 04?fref=ts
Cheers mate, I'll check him out.

I have always wondered why there are not more boards, especially smaller side console boats down have something similar to the Mclay boats, some thing like this in the link.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-s ... ss=Premium

Big enough for electrics, could still have rod holders clip on the front, but the have a lot more room for over nighters. If you don't do any over nighters probably not worth it.

My boats 5.35m, so I have the room for a full console. I like that idea for smaller craft though.
Gagey

Post by Gagey »

Keep us posted, interested to see what you come up with.
ADRNLN

Post by ADRNLN »

I'm probably not helping but this is something I've wanted to do with my tiller steer

Billy

That looks smicko

Cmon people, post up your pics! Jeez, at this rate I'll have to run with Flynns setup! :bonk:

Trying to down load some but no success.

though mine is a centre console cut down to right hieght (Mine is fibre glass But ally would work just as well)
Plenty to choose from.

another option.

Cheers mate, that's pretty much along the lines of what I'm after. Can ya see where your going when your sitting down?
palaran

Post by palaran »

Full height and fully enclosed side console.
Has large front door and plenty of options to add rod holders etc and plenty of room for sounders etc.
I would not go back to anything else as it is simply to much storage space to use.
I can throw a weeks food and utensils and clothes etc in there :D
Easy to sit behind and drive
LIFE EVOLVES ON THE EDGE