Any tuna in the harbour

Tate123

Any tuna in the harbour

Post by Tate123 »

Wondering if anyone has come across schools of tuna in the harbour area? Any info appreciated

BJOBrien

Re: Any tuna in the harbour

Post by BJOBrien »

G'day mate, there was a big school of Longtail around channel rock around 2hours after the bottom of the tide on Friday arvo, bustin up for 30-40mins. We got one on the first pass trolling halcos, so kept trying that but never got another, probably should have pulled up and thrown some chromies. I'll put a pic up if I can work out how
BJOBrien

Post by BJOBrien »

image.jpg
BJOBrien

Post by BJOBrien »

image.jpg

Nice tuna. I'm surprised you got 1 by trolling. Casting into them is a way better option IMO

Lats wrote:Nice tuna. I'm surprised you got 1 by trolling. Casting into them is a way better option IMO
We used to get long tails trolling barra classics around the school but definately a better hit rate with chromies.
slamminsam

Post by slamminsam »

There were tuna around the 6 mile this afternoon. We couldn't hook any but I saw another couple of boats land some.
BJOBrien

Post by BJOBrien »

Yeah I was there again, they weren't busting up anywhere near as much. I got one to the boat on my little Stradic, good fun, but it pulled the hooks under the boat. Saw another bloke get 2. They were cruising around just below the surface in schools of 4 or 5.
bring_it_on

Post by bring_it_on »

Was tuna busting close in between Charles point and gilruth yesterday .

Saw birds busting up around talc head on Sunday morning, didn't go close tho.

Saw a single bird yesterday on a mission so I followed it hoping it was looking for a feed. Not a thing

nomad wrote:Saw a single bird yesterday on a mission so I followed it hoping it was looking for a feed. Not a thing
Did she have big tits? [emoji48] [emoji48]

blw wrote:
nomad wrote:Saw a single bird yesterday on a mission so I followed it hoping it was looking for a feed. Not a thing
Did she have big tits? [emoji48] [emoji48]
Sounds like stalking to me

They all have big tits dont they?
stalking isnt a crime unless you get caught
deepblack

Post by deepblack »

BJOBrien wrote:Yeah I was there again, they weren't busting up anywhere near as much. I got one to the boat on my little Stradic, good fun, but it pulled the hooks under the boat. Saw another bloke get 2. They were cruising around just below the surface in schools of 4 or 5.
Hi BJ,
Yeah, that was me carrying on and trying to point out where the pods were. Good fishing, it's not often you can polaroid cruising Longtails. Hooked another one on a Subsurface stick bait and Ultralight Baitcasting Gear after you left but didn't stay connected unfortunately.
John.
Tuna.jpg
North Shore Reel Service 0400494401.