3 Great Trips Down the Daly

Note: If you know this spot, I'd appreciate it if you don't post it up. Thanks.

I usually fish the South and Shady for the runoff, but given the disappointing amount of rain this year I thought I'd give the Daly a crack. I've fished there land based before, with a bit of luck (and again this time at Bamboo Creek), but having bought a bigger boat a couple of years ago, I was keen to head a bit further afield. Using Google Earth, I looked around the bottom half of the Daly for some areas that might fish well and picked a likely spot.

It was such a good spot I went back a second and third time!
20150314_135237_resized.jpg
The first trip was with a mate who has just moved up. The long drive down the Daly was exciting, as trips to new spots always are. We found my creek and went way upstream, the colour was changing from iced coffee to coke (oh yeah! I love that!). We pushed further and further past little waterfalls pouring into the creek until we couldn't go any more. I ran the boat up onto the bank of a junction, threw the anchor over and cast up a feeder creek.
20150314_152136_resized.jpg
Bang! Straight onto a barra. Healthy little fella who was put straight back in the drink. Second cast, same thing. Third cast, much bigger fella jumps on:

20150314_135508_resized.jpg
20150314_135657_resized.jpg
By this stage my mate has a lure tied on and is pretty keen to get into the mayhem!

The rest of the morning was spent walking the bank and casting at the snags, runoffs and undercut banks. Absolutely hectic session where we could see the barra in the water. We got so many we needed to retire to the boat and have a rest (soft!).

20150314_144151_resized.jpg

20150314_164312_resized.jpg
20150314_164342_resized.jpg
20150314_170735_resized.jpg
20150315_085316_resized.jpg
Plenty of double hook-ups! There were other junctions and snags we fished over the next day, but none like that area! That night, we strolled some lures as we slept, and sure enough I was woken by my rod bucking all over the place. Pulled in a nice barra, necked it and went back to sleep. All up we got over 100 barra for the trip 8)

:captain: Trip 2:

A couple of weeks later, I went back to the same creek with another mate. This time the water was a little lower and a few new channels had broken through. The hot spots from the last trip were duds (relatively), and the new channels were the go!

Same as last time, several fish on board as soon as we tied up. Stacks more followed when we walked the banks. A new channel was draining a large area of floodplain, so we had a lot of success casting up the water rushing through and running the lures back at warp speed. Further up we found a deep pool with hundreds of barra which we could see in there swimming around and feeding. It was nuts!
20150403_131149_resized.jpg
20150403_135418_resized.jpg
20150403_162719_resized.jpg
20150403_162724_resized.jpg
20150403_185400_resized.jpg
20150403_185406_resized.jpg
We fished other junctions in the evening, with one big barra dropped on a massive plastic. We strolled lures again at night, with my mate dropping a barra trying to lift it into the boat.

20150404_070203_resized.jpg
The mozzies were mental, my fan chopped them up all night!
20150404_073018_resized.jpg
In the morning, we fished another junction at high tide, with stacks more barra on it. Another 100+ barra trip!

Trip 3: :surf:

This time, a few of us headed down to spot X, full of anticipation.

Same as the other trip, we got stacks of barra. This time though, we nearly didn't make it up the creek- it is so shallow I won't be back until next year. Day 2 was with a different group of guys, some from down south. I got a couple from the boat while they were tying knots, then jumped out and got this guy, the biggest for the trip at 79cms.

20150417_085002_resized_1.jpg
20150418_072406_resized_1.jpg
We also fished Bamboo landbased for a few rats and keepers. This trip, we got over 140 barra. I caught 89, could have easily got 100!

Thanks for reading!

Re: 3 Great Trips Down the Daly

Ripper report mate, with some first class results. Bigger spuds than me though, walking those banks

Yeah mate nice effort :clap: makes us one per trip look a little sad. :banghead:

Tat is some crazy fishing!!!
:applause:

But yes, personally, I would be a bit afraid to walk on these bank...
:croc:

Well done.

Awesome effort mate, well done.
Sweaty

Post by Sweaty »

Crazy fishing results, from some ballsy walking!

Nice, some great fishing there

Well done

WOW nice work ,,, :drinking1: :applause:
Scamper

Post by Scamper »

Well done, great post.
Sullo

Post by Sullo »

Awesome,great fishing.

Post by wazdog »

Great Post Mate,
Had a similiar tripo to the Daly just recently. with heaps of barra. Biggest was 90cm.

I would be real careful walking those banks buddy, crocs are sneaky buggers.

Fanbloodytastic!

Great report,