Daly River 20th/21st February

Jer

Daly River 20th/21st February

Post by Jer »

G'Day All,

Hit the Daly with a mate from work last Friday and Saturday after our planned trip elsewhere was cancelled due to the wind and weather. Was my first trip to the river and wasn't the best time to go but had to get out and fish somewhere.

On the drive there we ran in to a massive storm that had us second guessing if we should bother or not. But by the time we got to Adelaide River, the rain had cleared up and a quick check of BOM had us thinking we weren't going to be hit by any more big rain. There were two other trailers at the ramp when we arrived early Friday morning and for the whole of Friday we only saw three other boats on the water. There was only one other trailer at the ramp on Saturday and only two other boats on the water for the whole day.

The fishing wasn't great but I landed a 64cm model after it ran straight for the structure and got itself tangled up, luckily it didn't brick me. My mate hooked up to something bigger in another creek and it went straight for the snags and bricked him unfortunately. Besides only another small barra that didn't hook up, that was all the action for two days.
Daly River - 64cm.jpg
Daly River.jpg
Daly River-3.jpg
Daly River-4.jpg
Daly River-5.jpg
- Jer

Re: Daly River 20th/21st February

Thanks for the report, river looks pretty low!
ambush

Post by ambush »

Bad days fishing beats a good day at work 8)
Nice report good pics too thx

That's a nice broad, fat 64!! Looks like a better fish than some meter jobs I've seen pics of recently ......

good report & pics ,plenty of meat on the 64 nice fish , :mrgreen:
wally gator

Post by wally gator »

strange place for a Buff to take a nap !!
Old Mate

Post by Old Mate »

That 64 is built like a house brick. Well done mate and cheers for the great report.

Thx for the post mate ;-)