Desert fish

Re: Desert fish

Must be some of those 'early spangled perch' huh Matt..???

the golf course lake in Alice Springs was full of them. probably a large proportion of them done the runner with the flooding water. You get some other fish in the permenant rock pools out of Alice springs as well.

used to get heaps of them in the Murchison river, even used to have fun catching them as a young feller.

They are everywhere, caught them in the little creeks outside Brisbane.

More recently Brisbane creeks seem to be full of tilapia. I was looking in Kedron Brook last year and some of the tilapia were filleting size, the fillets would probably stick to a magnet tho.

Yeah Matt, dunno what they're like to eat, probably get drunk on them!,

bobj

Post by bobj »

Over 40 years ago, was supervising a 'dozer stockpiling gravel in the East Kimberley Region, about 2 miles (in those days) from the Dunham River. The 'dozer struck a layer of clay and I got the op to move to another area to win gravel. Being a Friday arvo, got the op to set the 'dozer aside for the weekend. Off to camp for the weekend and a 3.5 inch storm. Monday morning, took the op to the gravel pit and inspected the site as the op was doing maint. Went to the 'dozer gullet in the clay...It was full of water and possibly a hundred 2 inch long eeltailed powertails...They must have moved up from the Dunham through rivulets caused by the storm.

Cheers, Bobj.
Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

Tried to edit the section, Powertail, NOT POWERTAILS...Dunno why that happened.
Cheers, bobj.

bobj wrote:Tried to edit the section, Powertail, NOT POWERTAILS...Dunno why that happened.
Powertails are c.a.t.fish. it auto changes
bobj

Post by bobj »

Thanks, mate.
Cheers, bobj.
boof dog

Post by boof dog »

Having growing up in Alice, these little fish are what got my fishing addiction started. 2 meters of light mono wrapped around a stick, small hook, some red meat stolen from Mums freezer and of course the BMX bike to get to the hot spots. Any bit of water connected to a dry river would have mobs of these and they would put up a good fight. Some of the more 'permanent' water holes would produce fat fish up to 30cm (yep we even ate them...very tasty). Also got black stripped grunter, saw bony bream and sometimes a type of eel tailed powertail. Yabbies(not red claw) were also found lifting up rocks and in mud.
I'd rather be 'Up North' than 'Up Set'
leopard

Post by leopard »

i desperately try so hard to catch spangled grunter in the gunn lakes ....still doesnt happen for me
:(
the rat king :
NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY:
leopard

Post by leopard »

also does any one know where to go to get tiny eel tailed Powertail (i need them for my tank) at the moment i have a tiny barred grunter and a purple spotted gudgeon (which were all caught from the gunn lakes )
the rat king :
NAUGHTY<((((NAUGHTY:
bobj

Post by bobj »

Thinking of having a drive down the Duncan in September to the Negri River for sooties. Anyone know anything?

Or, would the Fergusson be a better option?.
Cheers, bobj.
smartypants

Post by smartypants »

leopard wrote:also does any one know where to go to get tiny eel tailed Powertail (i need them for my tank) at the moment i have a tiny barred grunter and a purple spotted gudgeon (which were all caught from the gunn lakes )
I live right on the gunn lakes and I catch spangled perch and barred grunter are the time, the best bait is muscles from the lake. but while you are their throw one out with a hook in its back as you might get a barra in return.