Re-flooring my tinny the long way

Talk about the gear you can't afford and knots you can't tie.
alfie

Re-flooring my tinny the long way

Post by alfie »

Bought a used tinny last year and it didn't take long for the floor to go soft. So had a look on FFF for past threads for ideas. I've always thought my boat could do with a bit more weight as it usually only ever my bro and I. This is a basic tinny, with two bench seat and a 3/4 floor. I am by no means an expert when it come to building anything, so there was a lot of utube for ideas. Finally I talked myself out of being adventurous and decided I was just going to put a new floor. It was off to bunnings for a sheet of 17mm form ply, sealant and a length of 3mm alloy angle so I could raise it higher and have a full width floor. After a little more research on google an utube for ideas, I decided to challenge myself and put a floor in front of the front bench and this could be used as storage. Then a little more utube and it was off to bunnings again for more angle, as I decided to put a floor behind the back bench seat to cover the tank and battery. Then a little more utube and back to bunning again for another sheet of form ply and alloy angle, after I decided it would be a great idea to have a longer casting platform in the front and again it could be used for storage. There was a lot of noise from cutting and then recutting from the jig saw and angle grinder. Sealing the edges of the wood took awhile as it rained a lot during this time, but managed to coat all the wood at least 4 times. I pop revitted all the alloy together while I waited. Cut up an old shoulder strap from a sports bag for lift tabs for the hatches. The angle is supported by the wood as the wood slides under the angle just like a puzzle. Have had two big blokes standing on the front and rear casting deck to make sure it was strong enough. It is solid and I no longer have any concerns of my building ability. Bilge pump is in and Led strip light going in under the gunwales. It took a long about 2 weeks in total, but it rained for most of it. Hope you like my creation, has made it easier to fish out of. Plenty of storage and flat floor. Cheers
Last edited by alfie on Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Good judgement is learnt through experience.
Experience is learnt through bad judgement.

Re: Re-flooring my tinny the long way

Looks flash

Great looking job , good to have a crack at it yourself , where would we be without youtube 8) :mrgreen:

Looks very nice.

Sounds abit like an ad for Bunnings :D
Karl123

Post by Karl123 »

Great job
AJay

Post by AJay »

Ripper, probably even be able to sleep in it now.

Great work there mate, something to be really proud of,

Good on ya ,

Nice job. In the middle of such a project myself at the moment
jersy

Post by jersy »

Great job! Should serve you well 8) :drinking8:
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
alfie

Post by alfie »

Cheers fellas.. Has made it a lot more comfy to fish of.
Good judgement is learnt through experience.
Experience is learnt through bad judgement.