The Rocks, Mackay

bobj

The Rocks, Mackay

Post by bobj »

...Well, 50 km NW of Mackay, at Ball Bay, Big Clarrie getting frustrated at not being able to get my 82 cm spotty mack.

He pops up quite regularly when I catch any mackerel.

Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Re: The Rocks, Mackay

Post by bobj »

Big Bessie and Big Clarrie wanting brekkie, the frame of a 64 cm spotty mackerel.

Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

The place, overlooking the southern Whitsunday Islands.

Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

Big Bessie just missed out on brekkie, a 64 cm spotty mackerel.

Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

A guesstimated 2 metre barracuda with what's left of a 52 cm doggy mackerel.

Cheers, bobj.

Cool photos
broke deckhand

Post by broke deckhand »

Beautiful spot Ball Bay... the ol man had a shed there and eventually built a house. I spent heaps of weekends and holidays there. I even lived there for a year and a half on the main drag while working in Mackay. Use to fish the rocks, the creek (great little creek bream barra and jacks). I'd walk around towards Halliday bay not a soul about. To be honest that was 20+yrs ago and I probably wouldnt recognised the place now.... it was a great place to watch the world go by and listen to the waves crash at night...
bobj

Post by bobj »

broke deckhand wrote:Beautiful spot Ball Bay... the ol man had a shed there and eventually built a house. I spent heaps of weekends and holidays there. I even lived there for a year and a half on the main drag while working in Mackay. Use to fish the rocks, the creek (great little creek bream barra and jacks). I'd walk around towards Halliday bay not a soul about. To be honest that was 20+yrs ago and I probably wouldnt recognised the place now.... it was a great place to watch the world go by and listen to the waves crash at night...
Moved here 15 years ago and it hasn't changed much, mate. A couple of cyclones have ripped most of the sand from the beach along The Esplanade.

Oh, and 3 houses more have been built... :D My place is on the main drag, too.
Cheers, bobj.
macca3441

Post by macca3441 »

Yes it is a lovely, quiet little spot!
My Oldies have a house there, also on the main drag down to the esplanade.
Will be down there for x-mas day!!

I'm reluctantly moving down your way from Darwin mate, bringing down my 5.3 sea jay. Might have to catch up for a beer if your keen. Always good to get some local knowledge

broke deckhand

Post by broke deckhand »

There you go we could have all been neighbours - we were at 23 Milkins :mrgreen:
Cheers :cheers:

Looks a great spot.
bobj

Post by bobj »

broke deckhand wrote:There you go we could have all been neighbours - we were at 23 Milkins :mrgreen:
Cheers :cheers:
Nice house...The owners have put a new 7 metre garage in, replacing the old shed. The mango tree still provides good fruit, so does the mandarin tree.

No. 17 for me, built our own place...Well, hired a builder.
Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

Scottie5.3 wrote:I'm reluctantly moving down your way from Darwin mate, bringing down my 5.3 sea jay. Might have to catch up for a beer if your keen. Always good to get some local knowledge
To Mackay, or Ball Bay? Ball Bay has beach launching, while at Seaforth, 10 minutes' drive away, there is a very good 3 lane ramp with access to the Newry Islands (6 km off shore) and the southern Whitsundays, (26 km off shore).
Cheers, bobj.
bobj

Post by bobj »

A couple of mornings ago, Big Clarrie investigating a 60 cm spanish mackerel I caught.

Cheers, bobj.