Diagnostic advice needed

UncleD
Seadog
Seadog

Diagnostic advice needed

Post by UncleD »

I have a 2008 Honda BF90 with 800hours which let me down for the first time off the Vernons last week.

We covered a lot of ground with many stop -starts however on 3 occasions, the motor failed to start...no spark...although the batteries (2) are relatively new and showing full charge.

I thought that it was due to the gears not disengaging however much wiggling of the control and checking the free spin of the prop suggested that it was out of gear.

On each occasion I fiddled with battery connections (which seemed clean and tight) and removed the cowling to check fuses etc...all seemed in order. I even tried manual stating it without success (in fact, I could barely get the engine to spin however as I have never tried this before, I don't know if this is unusual or no)..

Each time, the motor eventually started after 5 to 10
minutes...perhaps something is cooling after the passage of time?

I will take her in to B&H for a service and talk this though with the mechanic however this is the type of thing that is hard to describe and without intuition/experience, possibly difficult to isolate.

Does this situation ring bells to anyone? I'm sure it's simple.

My Giddy Aunt!
nomad
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Re: Diagnostic advice needed

Post by nomad »

I had an alarm (sounded like a water in fuel alarm i had before) on my 70 last year. couldnt find any problem
BH put the computer on it and couldnt find any problem either :bonk: i still dont know what was wrong but havent had a problem since.
cuddlescooper
Jedi Seadog
Jedi Seadog

Post by cuddlescooper »