Smoking fish

Show off your best recipes or grab one here and impress your partner.
Josh03

Smoking fish

Post by Josh03 »

I was watching a fishing DVD yesterday and they caught some tailor and smoked them whole. And they look delish!!! After seeing that I'm eager to give it a go myself. Will a little smoker from big W get me out of trouble? What other fish would go well has anyone smoked flathead etc and what are some good brine recipes. Cheers Josh

Re: Smoking fish

I haven't smoked any whole fish but blue salmon small macks and quenies and tuna fillets smoke up a treat.
I use a cheep smoke box from BCF
When I brine I also add some garlic in the mix then sprinkle with lemon pepper while drying.
Also started smoking any large fish frames, snapper jew and barra, tastes great.
I scrape the meat of and make smoked fishcakes out of them.
experiment with sawdust and seasonings, its amazing what you can make
MattyA

Post by MattyA »

barra fillets are beautiful smoked mate.

Matt
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

So is there any fish that taste like s#!t smoked! or is it all pretty good
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

I smoke fish in half a 44g drum with a chicken wire rack made up and a peice of ply for the lid. You've got to brine the fish first in 1 part salt to 3 parts raw sugar disolved in water for 4-8 hours. Leave the skin on and smoke with the skin side down. I just use timber from the bush ... the gum with deep red wood gives it a great flavour. The trick is to get the fire going then snuff it out but have enough air getting in to keep it hot and smoldering for about 45min (The method is called hot smoking). The best fish I've found smoked is travelly, but any fish can be smoked. Great way to make swampy barra edible.

I vaguely remember when I was a kid the old blokes use to cold smoke fish, mostly blue salmon, at our fishing shack. We had a smoke room/cubby house built in a tree and a fire box on the ground connected with some dunny pipe. You kept the fire going and added sawdust and the smoke went up the pipe and smoked the fish hung up in the smoke room. Took a lot longer than the hot smoke method though.
AJay

Post by AJay »

Currently smoking a couple slabs of spanish mack in my little smoker box. Delicious stuff.

I do agree with the Trevally being a very good fish to be smoked.
I know that a lot of people around here don't like them, but when I have one, I love to smoke it.

I usually let it in the brine overnight and smoke it while I have breakfast in the morning.
Like that I have a great lunch...

Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

Cheers guys for the great help/advice. I can't wait to start smoking hahaha. And there are always plenty of trevally around. I also read queenies are good. I will just experiment with a few different species, might even try a muddy after a few goes at it!

Prefer small gar myself, so much easier to roll ...

Matt Flynn wrote:Prefer small gar myself, so much easier to roll ...
Still bl..dy hard to light

Im right into smoking everything lately.... (Legally of course)

I use my electric smoker mostly, just did a heap of goldies today!
Fantastic!
Goldies are are awesome glazed with a little maple syrup!

Mackies, cod, trevs, queenies, jacks, smoke up a treat! so do coral trout, especially with some basic seasoning and a bit of rum in the dip dish!!

I mostly just head & gut my fish, then cut down the centre and butterfly them.
Add what ever seasoning, a bit of spirits sometimes...
Keeping it simple is best for smoking thou i reckon.

Smoking is a great idea for those smaller fish too you catch which suffer barotrauma and wont release!
Put nothing to waste!

If anyones got smoking ideas chuck em up... Im always interested in new ideas!!

Couple of spaniard fillets for sunday lunch today...

One with maple glaze and the other with dijon & seeded mustard rub...

I find with the mackeral here that a 90% salt & 10% sugar coating for 30 minutes, then wash, dry and smoke for 1 hour is the go...
Fish Tank

Post by Fish Tank »

Josh03 wrote:Cheers guys for the great help/advice. I can't wait to start smoking hahaha. And there are always plenty of trevally around. I also read queenies are good. I will just experiment with a few different species, might even try a muddy after a few goes at it!

We've tried smoking Mud Crabs before ... didn't work out the best.

You should start a fish smoking business Hemi.

There is a company down here called Mures that sells vacc pack smoked and seasoned fish to corner shops and delis, it is delish. I reckon there would be a market in Darwin for the same.

Fish Tank wrote:
Josh03 wrote:Cheers guys for the great help/advice. I can't wait to start smoking hahaha. And there are always plenty of trevally around. I also read queenies are good. I will just experiment with a few different species, might even try a muddy after a few goes at it!

We've tried smoking Mud Crabs before ... didn't work out the best.
Try chucking them straight on the coals. Gives a beautiful smokey flavor.