Goose shooting what's your scores at

Chasing pigs, buffalo, duck and geese. And deer, foxes, feral cats, rabbits ...
mippa

Re: Goose shooting what's your scores at

Post by mippa »

Anna Burroo wrote:I dislike how some shooters only take the breast of the bird, I am sure there are other tasty parts, such a waist.
its law you have to take the breast and legs. once you've taken that there isnt much left. take the neck for a dog then its gone. unless you want to eat the liver and heart etc. not sure what else you expect us to take? keep the head to put on the fence?

Wrighty

Post by Wrighty »

What you never had goose head soup Mippa?

Same as fish head soup but without the fish :lol:
mippa

Post by mippa »

haha na brus sounds like it would be tasty as lol
rodney

Post by rodney »

Goose frames under the grill Hoisin sauce= magic.
Id rater keep the frame/ legs and throw the breast out.

My grandfather said to show respect for something you have killed eat everything or leave it be.
mippa

Post by mippa »

rodney wrote:Id rater keep the frame/ legs and throw the breast out.
let me know when you're gonna turf the breasts and i'll come grab them off you mate.

i've used the frames for crab bait. works ok but not as good as chicken frames

mippa wrote:
rodney wrote:Id rater keep the frame/ legs and throw the breast out.
let me know when you're gonna turf the breasts and i'll come grab them off you mate.

i've used the frames for crab bait. works ok but not as good as chicken frames
I rate the old geese for crab bait. Reckon it's on par with fish frames.
Anna Burroo

Post by Anna Burroo »

Have you got a fence Mippa? I think your house would get smelly if you put the goose heads there. Bury them under a plant as fertiliser
mippa

Post by mippa »

Anna Burroo wrote:Have you got a fence Mippa? I think your house would get smelly if you put the goose heads there. Bury them under a plant as fertiliser
This is awkward. I was being a smart ass :applause:
Carry on
Anna Burroo

Post by Anna Burroo »

All good, my point is not too waist what we are provided with by nature. It's a shame to see an animal not get used up, we are lucky here in the NT, I am not sure if Magpie Geese are not protected elsewhere. I see others use parts for different things and they do actually soup well if you know Asian cooking styles.

I continually dispose of cane toads at my place but I still bury them in the garden as I do with all of the fish scraps and guts, plants luv them.
mippa

Post by mippa »

Well according to the video handed out by the government they estimate something like 2.5-3.8 million magpie geese in the top end. Last year they estimated 80,000 geese were killed in the season. I don't think they Are going extinct any time soon

The geese I have cooked whole you could have worn as shoes.

Breasts smashed with a mallet into schnitzels and crumbed is good. And sautes from marinated breast meat.

Attempts at cooking ducks created something half way between delicious and cannon ball.

De-breasted carcasses disappear overnight on the hunting grounds, they are not wasted according to the pigs/dingos/hawks.

Filleting a barra leaves a fair bit of waste, especially if you leave the wings.

Saw a bloke pull a filleted mulloway carcass out of a bin one morning in Adelaide and put in his car, he was doing the rounds of the wharf bins, I wondered if he owned a restaurant or was just very respectful of fish :)
mippa

Post by mippa »

Lol
truck465

Post by truck465 »

Went for a look at harrisons yesty heaps flying down that far left hand side as you looking at the adelaide.mostly at about 6pm
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

Was there this morning unless you wanna walk out into the water don't bother going. Shooting on the weekends seems better as there's more guns to spook them
Territory_Tuff

Post by Territory_Tuff »

Took a box of 50 federals and the 12 gauge out while we were hunting nailed 32 goose on the floodplain