What size minkota?

barnzy

What size minkota?

Post by barnzy »

Hi all , iv just bought a 5.6 bar crusher, I'm looking at putting a minkota ipilot on the front, I'd like to use the spot lock for bottom bashing and jigging ect... And of coarse for barra up the rivers. Is it worth going paying the extra money for the new 112Lb minkota or will the 80lb be enough? I just don't want to be disappointed with it. I understand it's a 36v system meaning 3 batteries. Whats every ones thoughts?

Re: What size minkota?

If its a Bar Crusher with a cabin i would say you would need the 112b.

Anchor winch(electric ) would be best bet for bottom bashing and jigging

I m thinking of getting the 112 for my 5.8 tomahawk . I went for a stressfree winch but should have opted for the min Kota instead as it so must easier with the spot lock. I have the 55 mk for my little boat and love it.

I don't think the 80 lb would hold a big plate over 5.5m in a big run or it be working its guts out.
barnzy

Post by barnzy »

It's an xs model rear console, yer balou that's what I'm thinking. I'd hate to set the 80lb up and it being to small. The extra battery is a pain but i think it's worth it.
rodney

Post by rodney »

I have a 620xs with a 80lb on it.
if the minkota dosnt hold spot then normaly its running too much to fish the bottom anyway.
I can fish the jew reef between the vernons during neeps all day and it pumps through there, if there was a 112 when I got mine I would have gone bigger allways better to have more power.
Got a stress free as well should never have got it dont use it enough, mostly when doing over nighters and sleeping on the boat.
mako

Post by mako »

Got an approximate quote to fit an 80 pound Min Kota to a 5.7 meter Bar Crusher including two batteries, charger, fitting charges etc, $5,300, anyone know who does a good job for less $$ ?

mako wrote:Got an approximate quote to fit an 80 pound Min Kota to a 5.7 meter Bar Crusher including two batteries, charger, fitting charges etc, $5,300, anyone know who does a good job for less $$ ?

Would be intetesting to know the break down on parts etc...
Cost of minn kota?
Cost of batteries?
Etc...

I remember when i got my minn kota, prices to install seemed ridiculous...
In the end I got Nt unique to weld my bracket.
Mike at battery world made me up all leads and plugs (for next to nothing! They were brilliant!!)
I installed twin batteries and charger system myself......

All up it cost nowhere near the amounts i was quoted....

Pretty easy to setup a good functional reliable system...

Might be worth asking George from nt unique, he is a dealer for minn Kota and can do the install too. He would also be able to advise on size too

I bought my last deep cycles from "Home Of 12 Volt" in Adelaide. Great price and free delivery.

I've only had them for six months so far so I cant give a proper review, but served us well in the 4 week trip across the Gibb River Road in July.
mako

Post by mako »

Cost of Minn Kota 80 pound with 60 inch shaft on its own was $2,500.

$2500.
So another $2800 to install including batteries etc etc etc....??
Im in the wrong game!!!

I wouldnt be paying that, get some advice off here, contact nt unique, ask around... Youll save heaps.
jdog

Post by jdog »

Have a go yourself easy to do plus you will save $$$ worst case is a frustrating arvo and the possibilty of throwing ur minn kota across the lawn.

Hemi wrote:$2500.
So another $2800 to install including batteries etc etc etc....??
Im in the wrong game!!!

I wouldnt be paying that, get some advice off here, contact nt unique, ask around... Youll save heaps.
$790 for 2 deep cycles 120AH
$150ish for quick release plate
$300ish for bow mount welded on
$200is for misc - andersen plugs, cable, fixings and fittings, a couple of plastic battery boxes and straps.

There's $1440. That leaves $1360 for labour to fit and mount. Surely there's an IP67 12v-24v DC-DC inverter and possibly 240v battery charger in there as well?
palaran

Post by palaran »

The 80 has heaps of power for your crusher
If its to windy you won't be fishing offshore anyway
It was $3300 for all my components (batteries, charger, cables and i-pilot all up) and install yourself
Once you use I-pilot you won't ever fish without one again
LIFE EVOLVES ON THE EDGE
Micko007

Post by Micko007 »

I just did it on my 520 Formosa. Nt unique did battery plate and mount. $400. Battery's from exide $580 120amp. Minn kotta and mount from IOBM $2500. 80plb 60inch. Mate wired it up and we installed every thing our self's. Total of $3700
It pay's to shop around.
I started with nothing! And i still have most of it left.