Snag bashin in darwin creeks

Put fishing videos only here, general videos have a another forum below.
Josh03

Snag bashin in darwin creeks

Post by Josh03 »

A few videos I made while in darwin, just had the gopro mounted on my outboard. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=j1r0QNhyCX0 https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=viOTBE4NxN8

Re: Snag bashin in darwin creeks

Nice work there...
Thanks for showing...

Good stuff there Josh.
Great to see the fish being released to fight another day.

Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

Cheers fellas, too good to catch once!

Very nice work mate! You fishing rockbars or just snags? Pity you've left Darwin, there's some stonker Jacks to be caught along the rockwalls at East Arm. Fish dawn, dusk on a new moon.
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

I prefer the timber mate, I haven't had too much luck around rock bars and man made structure, maybe I'm just not fishing them right

Wow, never seen so many jacks! Cool videos
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

What river system is your favourite for jacks?
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

Southport. There is some big stuff in there, got bricked twice by what I think where big cod. Could not stop them though as they just burried me in a heartbeat with a near locked drag. There was a lot of jacks around, I was lovin it, also a few queenies and other bits and pieces. No real thumper jacks though, biggest was 45 I think , the barra 63. Lot of rat barra also.
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

I only catch and release though. So size really isn't an issue in that regard, aslong as they pull hard I'm happy
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

Sweet my mate just brought a block down there. You go up or down from the ramp
tubbs

Post by tubbs »

Great Vids. Just love catching jacks.
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

Both barrabustin, that's the only creek in darwin I fished, so I'm sure there would be plent around in other creeks
barrabustin

Post by barrabustin »

Cheers for the info. Iv fished a lot of darwin harbour arms picking up the odd jack so maybe it's the upper reach that holds the jacks.Never 3 in a trip, fished middle arm about 40 times with the odd jack. Going for a flick and crab up there tomorrow.
Josh03

Post by Josh03 »

There definately up there mate, just make sure your lure lands 1mm from the snag and you will be in luck. I launched about half tide on the runout then headed right up creeks, then about an hour before low I started hitting all the timber. The tide also helped push my boat along abit so that I didn't have to rely on my electric constantly and wasn't ever pushing up stream. Then at the start of the run in I would start at the mouth of a creek and start to push up. If you get the chance have a poke up berry creek. I didn't end up getting there but I think that would be another ripper. Don't head right up those creeks if it's a really small low though, it's hell. I made that mistake and had to pull my boat though literally rapids and there was just to much structure which became a pain because I was always hitting it. I did find the end of the run out then the dead low did produce better then the run in. I think though that's because the tide runs back in so quick that the fish intern head right up into the mangroves and out of reach.