Fishing trip stuffed by service business

Tell us about your own or others' fishing, boating, 4X4 or camping trip gone wrong. With pictures.

Re: Fishing trip stuffed by service business

Had a good laugh watching late night news last night.....
Motorists in Melbourne were complaining that their fuel prices might hit $1.60 per litre over easter....
God, i wish!!!!
We were at a buck 60 long long time ago....!!

Hemi wrote:Had a good laugh watching late night news last night.....
Motorists in Melbourne were complaining that their fuel prices might hit $1.60 per litre over easter....
God, i wish!!!!
We were at a buck 60 long long time ago....!!
diesel is 162 here in hervey bay has been since I moved here in jan. Still beats what I was paying up there

160, I wish!

Saved heaps on fuel not towing the boat around for five days....

Had a landbased fish at buff for a doughnut today

I still cant see why its triple the price to service a $40k boat compared to a $60k car. More things to check/replace on a c ar than a boat.
All they do is the engine and a few grease nipples

Yep its a ripoff here. Bloke at work bought a 2014 model Prado from NSW. Saved $10 000 from local pricing of 2013 model. Cost him $2000 to freight it here so $8000 ahead he's laughing.

STANDY ,,I finally got my ute back on the road , now the boats in dry dock :evil:

So you got a boat with no car,,,I got a car with no boat ,,,both on holidays

2 great minds should be able to come up a with a plan :D :fishing:

Tow bar all sorted thanks to Falcon Engineering and paid by (service business)

A chat to the GM that is on the forum and had read about it before i went in helped out.
Also paying for one to get fixed and refunding the cost of the new one is a decent thing for missing a few days fishing whilst on holidays so i wont hold a grudge.
(ring me to get T-Shirt size and new address :wink: )

Special thanks to all the guys on the forum who offered to help and advice and PMed with there work places or own time that could help out. :bow:
(your what makes this forum a good place)

Thanks all
barratrooper1

Post by barratrooper1 »

You can name the big gas plant, but not the car dealership?
service in darwin is pretty bad accross the board, no matter who you deal with.
my mate recently boughtbthe same boat and motor combomfrom brisbane for a 13000 dollar saving. Buinesses up here are taking the p..s. I went to buy a buffet at a well known furnature shop here last year, that was twice the price of the same item, same store in adelaide. Didnt buy it and was given the freight bs excuse.
Very hard to justify buying any big ticket item in darwin, except fishing tackle, which is strangley far more competitivve than interstate. Even bl..dy petrol and diesal are dearer than katherine!

Yeah, anyone know why fuel is cheaper in Katherine?