Roper Bar Easter trip

Tanman

Roper Bar Easter trip

Post by Tanman »

G'day.
new to darwin and was thinking of heading down to the roper bar over easter for a landbased barra fish. anybody know if this is a good time to head down that way or am i wasting my time? i heard it was going well a few weeks ago but maybe have missed the opportunity already for this year???

and was also wondering about the road access at this time of the year to the roper bar. would a subaru outback be suitable?

any tips would be much appreciated.

Re: Roper Bar Easter trip

Search Roper Bar heaps been said in posts lately. Have seen small front wheel drives there heaps.
willow300

Post by willow300 »

Was there two weeks ago. Did 400 ks on the river from tomato island to the mouth and back. Mouth, phelps, and nearly very feeder in between. 9 fish landed. Far from the reports of 100+ fish per person over 5 days of fishing that I'd been told the week before. Spent the last night camping at the bar, not a fish to be seen, height ten was only about 150mm over crossing. Very narrow window to be there with any real success this year.. Or does a week really make that much difference?

A day can make a difference anywhere up here.

As they say by the time you have heard it, its to late

if you dont want to do the kms to roper for possibly nothing, try marrakai track or gunn point beach, always catch something when im out there this time of year

c9h14n

Post by c9h14n »

Unfortunately the bar is dead for the year. You will still get fish there at night but not worth the drive for what you will catch. The runoff downstream is also over, there are fish around but it's dry season fishing techniques already and don't hold your breath for any trickles. If you don't know the river intimately you could easily fish it for 5 days and catch nothing, so save your cash and wait until next year.
jersy

Post by jersy »

Yep, what c9h14n said. Just had a mate come back from there with a boat. Road just graded, 8) great. Fishing, :banghead: cr.p. Above suggestions,also maybe out Dundee foreshore or the Finness mouth for reliable land based. Might be a bit crowded but. .
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
rosco84

Post by rosco84 »

Yeah know an old bloke camping at tomatoe island goes every year for good couple months, never seen it so slow, sh..ty wet??, new mine??, licences to pump bulk water from river ?? More popular ?? All of the above?? Who knows but she pretty average
Tanman

Post by Tanman »

Cheers for the advice lads.

Will give marrakai track or gunn point beach a crack.

Thanks again