Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:41 pm Post subject: Solo run
The weather looked pretty good on Wednesday so I dedcided to head out for a bit of a look around. I eventually made it to the ramp around 0930 and headed out to see what I could find. First up I tried bouncing gulps around some reef with no joy so I went expolring the islands. I found some reef and bommies that I had not fished before and tried a popper with good results on some small trevs. The little guys go hard on light gear and catching them on poppers is fun.
The occasional set of big swells made it a bit hairy around the rocks so after catching 5 or 6 I decided to head out wider for a look.
I managed to find some birds working a school of tuna and that was it for the rest of the afternoon, they were on the chew and hooking them was no problem. Staying connected was difficult at times and I ended up changing the trebble on the slice to a larger one after pulling several hooks. I landed 3 good size Mac tuna and gave the little penn applause a good work out. I am not sure how much more it can take.
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:45 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
Awesome stuff pete. Looks like you are getting the hang of the pilbra and solo fishing too. Dodgy should be able to let you know how much the Penn has left in it as he has killed 1 or 2 of them
"Life's tough......It's even tougher if you're stupid." .........
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:55 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
Just one rods. The second is still going. They can take heaps. Much more than you can imagine. Im guessing the first is probably a bit sad now though. (wonder if that clip is still in existance?)
_________________ Don't wanna be a flat water hero.
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 9:13 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
ponyplay wrote:
nice trev. casting that big poper would test that out fit out alone
fair call PP I was using an ugly stick to throw the big popper. The first trev in the photo on the BM was caught on a gulp then I switched to the heavier outfit to chuck poppers. The light rod handles a small popper no worries but not sure it could take the bigger ones.
Dodgy good to know you have only killed one, means I should have years left on mine
Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:52 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
Sounds like a good way to spend the morning. Great Stuff. Been a while since you caught a barra Faulksy are you heading back this way for a run off fix
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:41 am Post subject: Re: Solo run
Dingo wrote:
Sounds like a good way to spend the morning. Great Stuff. Been a while since you caught a barra Faulksy are you heading back this way for a run off fix
Yep heading back in March for four weeks to hit the runoff. I am starting to have withdrawls
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:58 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
Nice pics Faulksy Don't blame you getting withdrawls mate............................Quiet round here only 26 for the season by this time we should almost be double that. May have to head north a bit myself mate.
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:49 pm Post subject: Re: Solo run
fff1964 wrote:
Nice pics Faulksy Don't blame you getting withdrawls mate............................Quiet round here only 26 for the season by this time we should almost be double that. May have to head north a bit myself mate.
At least you got a nice day to go out.
I have not yet caught a Pilbara bazz, I have only chased them twice for zip, have seen a few crusing around but am yet to hook one. We have been having a ball catching other stuff so its all good.