Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:20 am Post subject: Kimberley boat options
In the market for a new boat (or secondhand), to use around Kununurra and Wyndham area. Just putting it out there to get peoples comments and opinion. I know one boat is not going to fit the bill for everything in the Kimberley as we have such divesre fishing options... Looking for something of plate construction, fairly deep sided, at least 5mtr, but not too much bigger. 115ish hp 4 stroke and would prefer side console. Any fishos out there in KNX let me know your thoughts!!
_________________ I'd rather be 'Up North' than 'Up Set'
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:10 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Hi Boof Dog,
I know our you feel... it would be great to have the one boat that could be used for every situation in and around kununurra and wyndham but that boat is not on the market yet if ever.
You really need the bigger boat for getting out of wyndham (5.5m or bigger) and then the smaller tinny for doing all the local rivers(3.5-4m).
I've been in Knx for awhile now and have had a 4.5m quintrex hornet trophy for the last 5 years for has been sufficient for the lake, ord river and around wyndham. A couple of months ago we bought a 5.8m stacer cuddy cabin with a 150hp so we can get further out of wyndham and also to do it a bit more comfortably. I have done overnighters in the boat in wyndham and you can't beat that extra bit of comfort at night after a long day of fishing, the bunk in the cabin is nearly the size of a king size bed. Another good point is you can sit in comfort while riding the chop in the gulf and also you don't get wet.
I was a bit sceptical about this type of boat at first because I too was after a boat that your describing but after a few trips out of wyndham I would not go with a another type of boat(maybe a walk around cabin would be the only thing I would change).
You do sacrifice getting into the smaller, shallow creeks but you can also get out wider into other areas that people don't fish as much.
So too get back to your question one boat is not enough and two boats gets expensive just depends on the type of fishing you want to do and the areas you want to go.
After having two boats for 8 months now we are selling the smaller boat because we are just not using it anymore basically because I have fished all around knx now for the last 10 years and am now wanting to explore out of wyndham a bit more. Another reason is that most areas you can fish from a boat in knx you can also fish from the land.
So if anyone's interested I have a 4.5m quintrex hornet trophy with a merc 50hp four stroke on it for sale with very low hours(140), recent upgrade of trailer to offroad so it can get out to dommet and a new lowrance mark 5 sounder with down scan imaging. asking $18000 but am open to offers.
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:15 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Cheers Mike, thanks for sharing your thoughts. Your right about land based fishing knx (although I am still discovering them) and have caught plenty of quality fish from the bank. The reason why I have kept length to around 5 and horse power to 115 is more a cost thing than anything, as it is easy for the old Budget to keep creeping up and up! Years ago we used to do long trips out of Derby (10 days straight) through the King Sound and Buccaneer Arch etc, most of these were done in 4.8m dinghys (Rod Wellington built) with tiller 60's on the back. For sure we had to pick the weather, but you have to do that no matter what size boat you have. The Hornet sounds like a nice rig, I had a little 3.9m one with 30 4 stroke when I lived in Broome. You can't beat their hull design for the rivers and creeks.
Still not sure but am leaning towards a 510 Trailcraft profish??
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:05 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Yeah thats probably all I need, but wouldn,t it be great to have a bit more room, a bit more power, a bit more fuel, a bit more freeboard just to make them extended trips a bit more comfy!!
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:29 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
boof dog wrote:
Yeah thats probably all I need, but wouldn,t it be great to have a bit more room, a bit more power, a bit more fuel, a bit more freeboard just to make them extended trips a bit more comfy!!
Dead right and that's the puzzle , how to get two completely different boats into one package. Something to get up and down the gulf in the wind and the chop and one to sneak around the back of the snags.
The cheaper option was to comprimiise on the travelling for the better option in the creeks and I just got used to it.
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:46 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Got a 5.1 Noble side console with a 115 suzuki for the Gulf, out wise and rivers that allow access Then I've got a 3.7 proline with a 15hp for the creeks/ billabongs / hard to access rivers and car topper. Covered all options and use both frequently. Figure while I'm here may as well enjoy the sights and experience the Kimberley Plenty of fishing options just to hard to choose which one ha ha
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:17 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Exactly right Palaran, experience the Kimberley..... I mean why else are we here?? The v nose punt/15hp is the easy part, fairly cheap and easy to find on the second hand market. But the 'big one'... just don't know where to start. Googled the Noble 5.1 and yep thats exactly the sort of thing I am chasing although might bit a bit out of my price range. Did you have to get yours from the east coast or are they avalible out of Darwin. Couldn't really find any dealer info and none on the second hand market? How do you find it? Any info on these boats would be much appreciated.
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:48 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Boof dog also when looking for the Noble boat also look up Pacific , They were bought out by noble. They made an excelent double reverse chine boat, top ride and dry
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:55 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Noble is one sweet hull. The hull has the best deadrise on the market so it cuts through the chop which is what you need in the Gulf and beyond. You lose a little width (2.1m) but you cant have everything; but I'm 6'4" and the boat is plenty big enough to sleep in and move around. The boat is BIG for its size and has a good deep freeboard. The casting deck up front is huge, pretty much can stow everything in them and just have the esky / tackle / Minn Kota on top. It has a 150 tank and I can store 5-6 jerry cans in the casting deck to give a good range. The 115 gives me 2km to the litre. Bought mine from Ingham QLD as it was closer than Perth from here. There is a dealership in Perth and Hedland. There is some second hand boats on the market if you look at boatpoint. If you want to come around and have a look PM me and we can arrange. Cheers Damo
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:54 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
How bout a Black Arrow? draws bugger all water and have a nice five entry up the bow -almost flat at the stern.Ive been out wide in a 7mtr job as well as the shallow stuff- sweet rig. Been in nasty weather in it to.
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:34 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
Hey Seano, Does that mean you have one for sale? If so, more info and photos would be great. Reckon I've seen them a while ago. Are they made in Darwin?
Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:44 am Post subject: Kimberley boat options
I run a 4.7m quinnie topender with a sixty for my fishing needs, i find the hull to be perfect for Wyndam but you still need to pick your days. The motor is a touch under powered but this rig allows me to fish the Ord without too many dramas. An offroad trailer rounds things off and I can tow it pretty much anywhere. Efficient enough to tow over to the NT and fish some different country without blowing out the fuel bills. If the finance department allowed it, I would run a little tinnie for those isolated spots also. Something I could tow with a quad. So much to see and do fishing wise that no matter what you get, you will have to compromise somewhere.
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:53 pm Post subject: Re: Kimberley boat options
We met up with Rods crew on the water but didn,t really fish with his mob. Yeah he used to build pretty tuff boats and punts in the day, alot of serious Broome boys had them (and still do)