Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:43 am Post subject: Re: New to fishing.
Hey mate,
that should be fine. You should be able to get good distance casting lures with a long rod.
Live garfish, sardines and mullet are always good baits. Otherwise dead mullet, sardines and even your standard cooked prawns from the supermarket are a great bait; heaps better then scummy old pilchards or squid from a servo.
Get yourself a handful of white gillies metal slices- 20g, 40g, 60g. Good to have different sizes and weights. Reel them in as fast as you can. If you see a fish chasing it, don't slow down. You'll never wind faster then a queenfish or mackeral.
A few roosta poppers never go astray. The smaller ones tend to get the most hits. Red/white and the pilchard colour seem to be the best. Best using them at first light.
Squidgy Flickbaits are gold. Everything eats them. Reel in slow and steady along the rocks for barra and for queenfish/macks/trevally work them in very erratically at a medium pace...so bounce your rod tip heaps as you a winding in. Doesn't matter if it's skipping on the surface sometimes. They are also great for jigging of Stokes hill wharf. Let them sink to the bottom and jig back up quickly until you hit the surface. 1/4 ounce nitro jighead is about as heavy as you can go without losing action.
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:31 am Post subject: Re: New to fishing.
Cheers mate, sounds great. Will go get myself some lures. Yeah I think it is 20lb. So do the fish just take off that quick? Then do I just tighten the spoil or do you let them run a bit for them to tire out?
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:10 am Post subject: Re: New to fishing.
Have your drag set before you start fishing. I generally have mine fairly tight but you should still be able to pull line off by hand. The fish usually hook themselves on fast retrieved lures but you might need to strike on the poppers and soft plastics. Once the fish is hooked and starts taking line don't touch the drag. You have 250m of line on your reel for a reason. Let the fish tire itself out. Every fish fights differently, even individuals of the same species. A lot of factors come into play to determine how a fish fights. Obviously the size of the fish is the main one, but current lines, water depth, where the fish is hooked etc. all contribute. You'll pick this stuff up as you go anyway.
Leader is important too. I usually use 60lb flurocarbon. The black magic flurocarbon is fairly cheap compared to most brands and I've never had a problem with it. It's clearer and more abrasion resistant then mono leader. Learn a good knot to join your braid to your leader. I use an improved albright knot. A lot of other people use FG knots, slim beauties etc. Just a matter of personal preference. The benefit of join the braid and leader with a knot instead of a swivel is that it allows you to have a longer leader and that is really handy when you're fishing landbased around the rocks.
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:31 am Post subject: Re: New to fishing.
Cheers sheeby, sounds like a lot to learn. On my way to a tackle shop now to have a look. Can you recommend and websites for these knots? Hopefully someone is around when I'm fishing to help me!!! Haha
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:15 pm Post subject: Re: New to fishing.
Yeah true mud, you have been a great help sheeby. Just went and bought another rod and reel so I don't have to wait till next week. Got some metal lures and I'm right to hit Fannie bay and see how I go. Although I still need to wait for my tackle box as have no pliers or knife. Haha