Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:18 pm Post subject: Epic sooty adventure!!
On the weekend I did a bit of exploring and come across some untouched waters. The sooty grunter here have more than likely never seen a person or a lure and it was almost a fish a cast in most of the holes we fished. One fish I pulled in had 5 or 6 mates following it, so I quickly unhooked it and recast my lure at the biggest fish in the pack and caught it too. I also managed a new PB which would be around 50cm+ (measured on a rod which I was borrowing) so I will find out the exact measurement soon. Check out my blog for the full report. http://micksgonefishing.com/2012/08/13/it-doesnt-get-much-better/
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:43 pm Post subject: Re: Epic sooty adventure!!
One hell of a solid sootie there Check out the colour differences betwen fish. Is it an age/maturity colour change or what?
_________________ 'Take me drunk, I'm home" Unknown
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth". John F. Kennedy
"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum" Adlai E. Stevenson
"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship". Forster, Edward
"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear" George Orwell
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end." by Anonymous
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:32 am Post subject: Re: Epic sooty adventure!!
Milky wrote:
Cheers mate!! Just found out the Australian record is 2.25kg, I reckon this one would have given it a nudge.
Aren't they counting the sooties in the dams down there? I've seen some sooties in peter faust and timbeerwah dams that'd just about eat a 2.25 kg for brekky cracking fish
_________________ The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.