Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:12 pm Post subject: South Alligator October 2011
Last neaps slipped out to the mouth of the South Alligator with a mate for a few days that turned into 1 and a bit as the fish wanted to play. Lucky with the trip to dodge all the storms and the place turned it on for us. Went down late arvo and arrived after dark and as the wind was howling making fishing that night to difficult we hid in the creek at the end of the inside island to lighten the esky and be ready for a full day when the sun rose.
Up before day light coffee and breaky out of the road we ventured out on the low to the first drop in a jew hole. Managed a few nice jew fish between 1300 and a meter then had to move as any more fish would have just been killed for nothing and the snapper were not playing. Jumped around a bit trying some good lumps before hitting a school of snapper in about 45 foot. Only took 15 minutes and we had bagged out on them the biggest going 72cm with the average around 55cm. Also managed some good grunter, cods and a meter plus Queenie along the way. Reef fishing out of the road we pulled out the Barra gear and flogged the water to foam around the rocks for not much until we trolled Brookes and picked up a 57 and a couple of rats.
Happy with the days work we pulled stumps a day early and headed for home.
Now for my bitch and whinge. My carbon foot print has escalated because when I got home I had to unbag all the fish out of their individual plastic clip seal bags to skin them, then re-bag everything. No way was I going to re-use the old bags that were full of slime. What a dumb farrrrfing rule. I don’t give a tonkers what anyone says the amount of parasites and pathogens that live in that slime can’t be good for you. Any fisherman worth their salt can tell the difference between the different species of fish with the skins off.
Bitch over.
Live the dream.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ A mans boat is a sign of his strengths and weaknesses???? (and wealth)
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:15 pm Post subject: Re: South Alligator October 2011
Any special reason you fillet at sea, off course you should be able to do so if you want, it just strikes me as easier to do it at home. I agree about the sliming up of the skin but wouldnt it already be on the flesh anyway as well as in the bag.
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:11 pm Post subject: Re: South Alligator October 2011
Good post & great fishing Grumpy, I agree totally re the no skinning rule. Surely anyone who is trained to check on fish species should be able to recognise what they are with the skin off, If not they should find another job more suitable! I regularly fillet & skin the fish in the boat & keep the skin in a seperate bag in the esky. Still haven't been checked so not sure how it will go but I guess someone has to be the test case, just hope it's not me!....Cheers
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:42 pm Post subject: Re: South Alligator October 2011
Well done Grumpy Good to see you practicing conservation on the jewie population ..I will be heading there on second week of November for three days.
_________________ 'Take me drunk, I'm home" Unknown
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth". John F. Kennedy
"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum" Adlai E. Stevenson
"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship". Forster, Edward
"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear" George Orwell
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end." by Anonymous
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:45 am Post subject: Re: South Alligator October 2011
Ben Jam wrote:
Grumpy, We fished brooks creek on Sat afternoon in a 4.5 centre console stacer. Was that you we saw in there throwing rubbers???
Hi Ben Jam no mate not on a weekend.
Night Stalker wrote:
Great trip guys...
Night Stalker was told old mates radio was fine will have to check mine as the speaker is gone and I have an external speaker plugged in.
AM wrote:
Any special reason you fillet at sea, off course you should be able to do so if you want, it just strikes me as easier to do it at home. I agree about the sliming up of the skin but wouldnt it already be on the flesh anyway as well as in the bag.
Bit hard to leave big fish hole and bring home. Slime is on the outside of the skin on the scales when you skin the fish the flesh doesn't touch it (if you are carefull).
Cheers guys
_________________ A mans boat is a sign of his strengths and weaknesses???? (and wealth)