Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:08 pm Post subject: South Alligator - Field Island Overnighter 3/4 Dec
Hit the mouth of the south Saturday for an overnighter. Weather was nice and cool with storms all around us with luckily none hitting us. We fished the reef between Field and Barron Island, the tides were neap so it was OK but with the storms all around us the wind direction kept changing with the result being us pulled off the mark. The sunset had some really nice hues and being the mad photographer I am I could not resist taking heaps of pics. The night was pleasant enough with cool conditions, the wind keeping all but the most determined mozzies off us, the JD's tasted great. The fishing was a little slow but as long as you have enough Jacks and a good mate/s around you can have a great time. About three in the morning we finally succumbed to the effects of JDitis and tiredness and retired to the bottom of the rocking boat for a few hours kip. Day Two: We both pulled up some nice goldies, one 80cm jew, heaps of bl..dy powertails and sharks (even a 2m lemon and 1.3 m Hammerhead). Neil got to snag a nice fat blue salmon as well for a bit of variety. We trolled along the rocky edges of Barron Island for zip (except I lost a new lure to a snag ).
As the tides started to come in we decided to make a move towards Pococks/West Ally head. We had to circumnavigate large areas of sand flats and it took a bit of doing. We fished a couple of waypoints another mate gave me in that area for zip and then headed north to fish the waypoints from Bears South Ally article in Fishing & Outdoors Mag. It was no surprise to me to discover that the waypoints were way out Instead of reef we were on a sand flat with 1 metre of water under the boat . We slowly made our way along the western side of Field Island dodging sand flats and anchored for a short time between the two islands before heading back upstream the South with the incoming tide. The river was as calm as a mill pond allowing us to power back in two hours. Overall a good trip with good company, plenty of and a few good to fill the larder and we didnt even get wet
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ 'Take me drunk, I'm home" Unknown
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth". John F. Kennedy
"The first principle of a free society is an untrammeled flow of words in an open forum" Adlai E. Stevenson
"We are willing enough to praise freedom when she is safely tucked away in the past and cannot be a nuisance. In the present, amidst dangers whose outcome we cannot foresee, we get nervous about her, and admit censorship". Forster, Edward
"Freedom is the right to tell people what they do not want to hear" George Orwell
"Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end." by Anonymous
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:15 pm Post subject: Re: South Alligator - Field Island Overnighter 3/4 Dec
Some nice goldies though and ripper sunset photies
_________________ Live it and ENJOY
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:09 pm Post subject: Re: South Alligator - Field Island Overnighter 3/4 Dec
Hey Paul that mark i gave you must be wrong ill have to have a look at it for you...... There is no way I was over near west alligator head?? but anyway shame i wasnt there to land some monster powertails !!! Good to see you still nailed some good sharks though hahahahah
_________________ Frodo, Dont wear the ring...........
The magical Bling, Bling..
I dont rap about bitches and ho's
I rap about witches and trolls.....