Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:39 pm Post subject: new to darwin
hi guys and gals my name is jamie and i am new to darwin and would like to know where i can fish out from the harbour as i only have a 3.99 proline. I lived in towsville for the last six years and done a few trips out to sea with my old boat. so i know how to fish but i have no idear where to up here. i love my fishing and any info would be much appreciated
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:38 pm Post subject: Re: new to darwin
Hi cotto87
welcome onboard.
good place to start would be getting a copy of the latest fish finder book. Has heaps of spots marked from people who have been here for years and explains quite a bit about the different types of fishing as well.
the Darwin Harbour this weekend will be good, for flicking in snake drains at midday, won't be much water though!!!
But you will be able to make a note of where the deep holes and the rock bars and snags are for future reference.
Cheers!
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:05 pm Post subject: Re: new to darwin
Hi there cotto87,welcome too Darwin and the FFF family,like my cousin above said best start is the Fishfinder book.You`ll find that alot of people will help you out on here with advice,tips and the like,wish i could help you out a bit but i`m relatively new too darwin fishing myself so still learning the ropes of this wonderful area.Smarty
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:24 pm Post subject: Re: new to darwin
don't feel you're stuck in the harbour with a 3.99 mate, the rivers will be more comfortable than the harbour anyway and there's plenty of spots in Bynoe your rig will be well suited to also, just keep an eye on the arvo storms this time of year, if you're here until the dry you'll be able to go chasing macks and tuna on the inshore reefs as well
_________________ The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope.
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:38 am Post subject: Re: new to darwin
Welcome aboard Jamie...look forward to hearing about your successes. Now that the storms have arrived take care on the harbour till the runoff...geting cought in a storm can be unsettling...try the estuaries and creeks. Cheers Mud
_________________ Its not a crisis unless there is blood around. If there is blood around......well its a police matter...
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:54 pm Post subject: Re: new to darwin
went again today to the harbour got a few sharks about 80 or cm long and a small jewy nothing to write home about but did also lose 2 anchors lol damm d shackles. checkes a few wreks out but coundnt get anything from them. would like a few snapper but have no clue where to go? have a copy of the mag but the gps marks didnt produce anything for me this weekend. had a good time though...