Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:07 am Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
I took my 3 girls out on Saturday off channel Island, Got one barra and then switched to baits as the girls hate lures. Got smoked by god knows what a few times, almost spooled, We got a couple of parrot fish, some bream, fingermark and the usual power tails,puffers and moonies. Managed 12 crabs, still fairly easy to get except for the croc that got half of the pots. All in all a good day.
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:42 am Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
Ok too easy sounds like fun! Definetley keep me in mind next time you go and I will see what Im up too. Are there any good spots for reef fishing on spring tides up here? or is it too much current for them? I hear the reef dwellers like the big tides at dundee. Cheers for the advice, will be a great help next time. Ok sorry for me for not being up with it all up here but what is a powertail? and a mother in law fish?? I presume the latter is bl..dy annoying!!
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:15 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
For some reason this forum doesn't allow "cat" & "fish" to go together, hence powertail. Mother-in-law fish is a fish you would only give your mother-in-law (apparently). Not too good on the fang. I don't know much about them as it was my first one on the weekend. They look alright.....
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:00 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
Hi all, like stormboy i'm a newcomer to Darwin and spent sat morning at Fenton/Sth Gutter with little result. Only 3rd trip in the boat so far but am looking to venture over toward the tiwis at some stage. does anyone know where to go and not to go at the tiwis? have a 6.6m boat so most places are accessible. any help appreciated.
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:47 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
We went down south to Albury & Hume Wier for a Comp.
Got there late Friday , due to other not being organised, & late getting away , (So much for a quick fish in the arvo.).
Boys had a few & a , finally hit the sack around 1.30am. Up at 6.00 beautifukl day, got on the water at ....8.35... Wind came up stright away, blowing at 20/30kph, made the trip across the Dam pretty rough... Set up trollig runs, all we got was small, small reddies..went to bigger l;ures, nothing....seemed averyone was doing it tough. Cooked op some lunch in the boat, boys were happy with that....Went to North end of Dam after lunch...found a couple of good spots, then Bang , ON !, got a yella whuich ended uop masuring 55cm but was fat as, Quick Kodak moment & off to find a measuring boat....couldnt find away Had to head off to measuring station at Ramp about 3kl away, the poor old Honda got the biggest hiding she was flat with nothing more left !.
Got to the station got it measured, at 55cm, measuring marshals tell me thats one of the biggest theyve seen all weekend but they heard of anoother at 63cm !! , released him to find he wouldnt swin away, so I walked him for about 30minutes, no go, gave it to the marshals as they wanted it to eat !, way too fatty for me. Went back to the "Spot" and trolled all around , started a bit of casting but no go..O. Headed back to ramp on sunset, had a run with a 5m Hornet with an 80 Yammie & found the 75 Honda could just edge away...
Big dinner saturday night , lots of anothe rlate night.
Up at 6.30 Sunday headed off to "the Spot" trolled, n trolled n trolled n cast n cast got 3 tiny reddies ..
Poor fishing , but boys had a good time.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ Angry
"I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you"
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:10 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
Angry - Excellent post mate, the weather looks superb!!
Giant - Now thats what Im talking about!! Well done,the double would have been great fun! I need to get me some of those puppies!! What were you using for bait? All of the reefies Ive caight so far have only taken squid. Is there anywhere decent around to go reef fishing on springs? How long did it take you to get to the tiwis?
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:09 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
bait was pillie and squid mix , charles point has been good to me but havent been there for a while. we caught 5 jew fish there above a metre last year but was around april.
tiwis takes about 1 and a half hours at around 27 knots in decent seas.
last weekend we got onto quite a few annoying reef sharks and was just about to move and decided one more try and the goldies came around so sometimes pays to persevere too. but there is heaps of bottom over there too explore or cape forcroy if you have the fuel and decent weather i have not been there though,( limited on fuel)
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:41 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
Sunday saw us at Fenton early - drifted around for nothing for a while then at about 8.00 the goldies went off. A fish a drift. Not huge but great fun and a feed.
Got two coral trout - they are gluttons. One coughed up a piece of gulp, a small leatherjacket, and the brides last squid bait! the other one coughed up a huge whole squid! How come they were still hungry enough to slam our baits?
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:59 pm Post subject: Re: How were Everyones results this weekend?
That was a Titan battle with the lemon shark Smed. We had to towel him down half way through the fight and the smelling salts were on hand as well. I hooked him twice. Only knew he was on when the snag started swimming. Busted him off quick smart. See you at Fenton tomorrow. Trying gulps- see if they work.