Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:48 pm Post subject: FUN at DUNDEE
Headed out to Dundee last Saturday for some bluewater action with my sister. The road in was great and we arrived at 6.45am with one boat waiting ahead of us. We made fairly quick time over to Blaze as it relatively flat.
At my first mark we got into a patch of goldies and managed 7-8 in the 40-45 cm range. Nice pan size! Left them biting on the hunt for some bigger ones. On the next drop in deeper water we got into a couple of trouts and then the jewies moved in. We pick up 3 around the 110cm and got smoke by 3-4 others.
Can’t get away from these jewies at the minute.
We had enough in the esky by 9am so decided to explore some contours which we did really on a 4 day charter late last year. Chuck out the bluewater lures and trawl around looking for good bottom in about 8 -10 meters of water. Marked out 6-7 good spots holding fish and decided to get them a bash.
Must have dropped onto a school of jews cause it was instant double hook up. My sister dropped hers at the boat while I landed mine. We were in shallow enough water so it swan away ok. Baits down again and she was on again. This time it a nice Mackie. We both got bitten of on the next drop but manage another nice Mackie at this spot. It was the turn of the tide so we were not going to wait around for the jewie to come back on the bite.
We made a decision to head wide closer to sail city to look for some trickies as it had glassed off. For some reason I can never find them at Dundee. Check around a few marks at about 18- 20 m for zip on every drop except for a couple of lemon sharks
Decided to check out Bowra on the way home. Trawled around for a bit and got another Mack. Checked out a mark a mate give me which was supposed to be his best tricky mark but we only managed a few more goldies. Where the hell are all the trickies?
The NW winds had started to kick in so we headed for home.
Checked the fish trailer and f-ck me it was loaded with trickies and not much else. Somehow we didn’t even get one.
I can’t complain though we got some nice fish in the box
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:12 pm Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
still an impressive effort Balou! I hit the Adelaide on Friday night and weathered the storm for 2 jewies on 2 tide turns! Far too much dirty water coming tbhrough and not a boof to be heard.
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:47 am Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
Balou. Sounds like you are fishing too bigger lumps of reef if you arent getting trickies, get off the edge of the shoals on rubble "fluffy' ground. Dont need much on the sounder. If you see fish on the sounder chances are they arent trickies. If you see "Fluff" chances are there is millions of them. They dont tend to give a big sounder image for some reason.
Nice fish again mate. You have Dundee pretty sussed.
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:58 am Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
Saturday fished particularly well around Dundee as a matter of fact. Bass and Roach turned on fish however Sunday was poor for some reason. The weather was fantastic, glassy especially Sunday
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:58 am Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
Shane Doevy wrote:
Balou mate you give me your jewie marks and Ill put you onto some trickies no worries at all bloke. Not a bad problem to have.
Good work mate - thanks for posting it up.
No worries Shane will get the marks when next hook up the sounder. Are you still fishing those marks over long lost way. I have not done any good that way for ages so I had stop fishing out there completely. Use to bump into you and JD every second weekend out there.
cuddlescooper wrote:
Balou. Sounds like you are fishing too bigger lumps of reef if you arent getting trickies, get off the edge of the shoals on rubble "fluffy' ground. Dont need much on the sounder. If you see fish on the sounder chances are they arent trickies. If you see "Fluff" chances are there is millions of them. They dont tend to give a big sounder image for some reason
Thanks for the tip CC! Have pick up this fluff on the sounder of the bottom but always though they were bait then trickies. Might have a go drifting though them next time.
I dont like trickies to eat but really rate the bigger ones as a fighting fish.
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:08 pm Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
COOPS wrote:
i'm the opposite at dundee, always get trickys but don't get the goldys....\n\ni almost always go to long lost way though
\n\n\nIm a bit the same way with the snapper, until you get further down towards cape ford. I must say that for me the trickys eat as good as most if you treat em right. Ask the Ghound. The trick from what I can make out is in the flleting not the catching.
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:37 pm Post subject: Re: FUN at DUNDEE
Only Balou would winge about the all the bl..dy jewies.....
Hey Dundee Hombre d'you reckon the trickies are dropping off? Last six or so trips out I havent got one although thats mainly been around blaze and perons...maybe its just a location thing.
_________________ Its not a crisis unless there is blood around. If there is blood around......well its a police matter...