Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:18 am Post subject: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
With the weather and tides playing the game Ajay and I decided to head to Fenton Patches for a bit of jigging action as we herd a few good reports out wide (cheers Moon man)
We got down to the ramp at about 715 and cruzed straight out there in almost perfect conditions. Pulled up at the first spot that had a few fish sitting on it. Ajay put the spotlock on the Minn Kota which held us on the money (best invention ever). Ajay got a small GT, and about a 7ft shark which gave him a fair bit of curry when trying to get his braid back.
We were there for all of 30min and a dive boat turns up , and to my disbelieve old mate drops his anchor and now he is only 5m on our portside . He was being real friendly to us “Hi guys how’s the fishing going, many down there, hard work that jigging isn’t?” He was that close no yelling wasn’t required, I ask him what was going on in his head (thats the nice version), and he then replied “oh don’t worry about us we wont get in your road” What do you say to that???? Two boat out as far as the eye can see and parks only 5m from us .
We ended up moving after the bubbles started coming up around our boat, but now I look at it I see it as a good thing, because had they not turned up we wouldn’t have moved to some of the hottest jigging I’ve had in a long while.
First drop yielded a nice snapper followed by Ajay getting a small GT. Then double hookups on Golden trevs, and it just went on and on. The best bit was the verity in the fish there, small GT!!!!, golden trevs, giant herring, snapper and more. We were sniped a few times by some big macks. The tuna did pop up a few times but were gone before we could get a slicer in front of them.
We jigged everything, knife jigs, soft plastics, slicers, and beleiave it or not the best results were on the 3 dollar slicers I got from Kmart, go figure!!!!!
It was as hot as hell out there with no wind so we both took turns in having a dip, over all great day. No fish really worth bragging about but heaps to keep us entertained on light gear.
Being a little worried about the afternoon storm we headed back to the ramp at about 230pm. As we got to ramp there was a guy coming in using his Minn kota??? What had happened he had tried to cut straight across from the Harbor and hit the reef on his way back in, all that was left of his prop was a cylinder. The fins were ripped straight off the poor bugger.
Bank:
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:46 am Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Good report mate - well done! Taking a dip is very tempting out there, especially on a glass off. I saw the dive boat do exactly the same thing to another boat out at Fenton Patches, I have always obeyed the rules around dive boats, for very good safety reasons. However, when they do that it is pretty annoying, that bloke must be on planet mars or something. At least you had a good day. Shame about old mate, was there much left to tow him?
We just got a few small queenies and trevs in the harbour today. Maybe should have headed out wide.
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:41 am Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Spotter, I have plenty of snapper leads and my boat already has an anchor. Thats what the skipper said to us, was that you????? There were only two boats out there plenty of places to dive and I end with a boat 5m away. What if I jigged the diver in the face?????? Thats why we stop fishing and moved on.
Mate all I wanted to do was fish, thats why we went out there. I just can't see why everyone would that???????
Doors off, he was already at the entrance of the shelter waters at nightcliff ramp.
With the divers in the water, I thought as soon as the dive flags is put up, it was 60m exclusion zone like in other states???? but when I got home and checked to Nt boating rules I can't find anything that would suggest that either of us were in the wrong??????? Maybe I'm not looking in the right place?
Last edited by Ben Jam on Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Highscores:25
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:03 am Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Well done Ben Jam. Looks like a great day out on the water.
AS FOR THE DIVE BOAT
my mate carries a slingshot and when they do that wait till all over board and shoots out the sounder screen. Not a nice thing to do but gets his point across.
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:18 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Nah man wasnt me but I used to blow a few bubbles here in Darwin from time to time. Also do a heap of fishing so can see the argument from both sides of the fence.
Should have kept fishing, they would have only been there a couple hours at the most and all the commotion they cause down there usually brings in a few macks!
As a diver you spend a lot of time and money getting out there with limited days of the year when u can actually dive the wreck. Its an awesome dive and Ill tell ya there are HEAPS of fish on it, including thumper goldies and more trevs than you could every want to catch. You can be assured that when you get out there and there is a boat fishing it the last thing you want to do is spoil anyones fun, but your already pretty committed - especially if you have punters on board... and its not any one persons wreck...
Your turn......
MRB - better be carefull they dont pull your bungs out!!! haha!
Bubble Blowers and fisherman dont usually get on - especially over the MIII!
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:51 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
I was onboard the boat that Doorsoff was referring to. That was the second fortnight that the exact same divers parked at the exact same spot we were on. First time round we were nice. Captain Mick had found a divers retrieval bag and gave it to them. In exchange we were given a heap of lead. We have both been divers in the past & were a little miffed at the proximity of the dive boys. We did take the advice of the first two divers to move 50 metres foward to get right on the wreck, only to have a "Divers Below" balloon sent up. The following fortnight, the boys arrived & threw in the pick.They then drifted on to us which led to both crews having to hold the boats apart. They tried to pull the pick, only to find that she was stuck. No worries......we'll go for a dive and lift her from down there. To say that Captain Mick was less than impressed when they lifted his by mistake is an understatement. Nothing was said on the occassion, though we did stick around to watch if the resident hammerhead was going to come and play.
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:26 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
It kind of defeats the purpose of FISHING once there are divers under your boat. We were smack over the reef and we could see the divers perfectly on the lowrance HDS!!!! Is that fair?????
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:32 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Quote:
AS FOR THE DIVE BOAT
my mate carries a slingshot and when they do that wait till all over board and shoots out the sounder screen. Not a nice thing to do but gets his point across.
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:54 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
BJ - Yeah it sucks but what would you recommend? Its a good fishing spot and its a good dive and its a fair old trip to get out there..... turn around and go home?
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:59 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Hi ben Good report mate looks like plenty of action for the day. I,v had the dive boat thing happen many times a bit rude to say the least,, Anyway got sneaky day off tomorrow might head fenton way thanks for the info.
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:12 pm Post subject: Re: Fenton patches 18 Dec 11
Spotter wrote:
BJ - Yeah it sucks but what would you recommend? Its a good fishing spot and its a good dive and its a fair old trip to get out there..... turn around and go home?
fenton patches has at least 10 sites that could be dived on. If someone is on a site move to the next one.