Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:38 pm Post subject: Dundee on massive tides
Was hoping someone could pass on there experience/s with fishing Dundee area on a 7+ tidal run. Have got my work Christmas due on this weekend and wouldn't mind getting some fishing in while I'm down there and I have never fished such big tides there. I have a 5.5mtr formosa so it should be good to venture a little.
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:09 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Hey Wheelerin.
Was out there a few weeks ago on the springs. Best advice, find a ledge andhave.
Also keep an eye on the weather, was out there last weekend and myself in my boat and many others saw a decent water spout. Keep your finger on the pulse with this one and you should get a nice feed.
Happy Fishin!
Bugged1989
_________________ " Peace and Quiet - Loud and Obnoxious more like"
Highscores:13
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:22 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Hey Mate,
I LOVE DUNDEE ON THE SPRINGS! More run, more fun is the key out there i say.
Your fishing windows are shorter as the tide sucks in and out (around 1 hours each side of the high and low depending on where you are fishing) If you are out wide on deep fishing grounds you normally have longer. Favorite places on the springs is Long Lost and Bowra Shoal only for the depth really.
Pelagics are alot harder to find on these bigger tides but they are around and the reef fish tend to go off more on the first hour of the out going.
Hope you go alright if you do decide to head out.
JQ
_________________ It has always been my private conviction that any man who pits his intelligence against a fish and loses has it coming.
Give a man a fish, and he can eat for a day. But teach a man how to fish, and he'll be dead of mercury poisoning inside of three years.
“Fishing, with me, has always been an excuse to drink in the daytime”
"Soon after I embraced the sport of angling I became convinced that I should never be able to enjoy it if I had to rely on the cooperation of the fish."
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:42 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
we are heading out Saturday morning fingers crossed and hope fully go wide of the perons got nice Jewies and mixed reef on last big tides off point blaze. Good luck
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:55 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Two weeks agos tides were just marginally big I reckon for mine, made it just a bit harder down south of the perons. Not imposible though and they do bite hard on the swing but just not as much fun for the skipper trying to find the action. But hey if thats when you can go then go, just be very very mindfull of the lighning yje wind and rain is passed quick enough but man that lightning sunday week ago was a big big worry.
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:17 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Thanks for the tips. We have two boats going out and we plan doing both Sat & Sun so we should get on one of those days. I'll hopefully have something post about next week.
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:57 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Blaze is a good option also Roach and Bass reefs. The jewies and snapper are in close' real close, nailed some nice jewies on the south side of Blaze in 7m water; goldies there too.
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:53 am Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
i fish the area outside the Perons a fair bit on springs, drifting and jigging works well, can drift with the tide and get some good trout n trickies etc, find some good bottom and drift over it, if u get a couple keep drifting over the same spot, you'll find your track will change with the tide. Have fun
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:48 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Lats, i mainly use Octa style jigs, 40-80gram mostly, depending on the wind and tidal movement where you r fishing, have had a go with the gulps etc, but seem to do better with the others. Not a problem to let them drift away from the boat a bit either. They will get smashed on the drop as well, we lost approx half a dozen last weekend on the drop, mainly macks.
_________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:27 pm Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
Cheers 86. I have quite a few of them jigs too. I just have to force myself to leave the bait in the esky (or leave it at home) to make myself rack up the hours on the jigs to refine my technique. My misses has fallen in love with the z-man sexy lady so I want to put her onto a fish using them.
Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:12 am Post subject: Re: Dundee on massive tides
86 is right. I was standing next to him using bait ant the jigs were outfishing me by a mile. I swapped over to Lucanas jigs and got smashed on the drop twice ($20 a go). In the end, the best setup was the occy style jigs with a slip of squid attached. I list 3 sets of hooks on the occy jigs on the to mack drop as well. in the end, i used wire to connect the hooks to the jigs Even the tassles were getting smashed