Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:13 am Post subject: Re: Channel Point and The Peron's again!!
Quote:
Some nice fish there 86. Looks like one day we will have to have a jig off. I will use gulps and you can use the occy jigs. I only say this because I cant catch a fish on a occy jig and you have seemed to master them. It would be interesting to see which one produces the best or weather they come out on par.
no worries cuddles, sounds good, i have never used any gulps, have had a few people use them out with me but the occy's have always produced better!! Most of my fishing is drifting though, i have used the occy's a few times anchored and caught some ripper fish with them then, including nice Jewies, maybe the gulps work better at anchor??
Attachment:
021.JPG
Quote:
Great report, full of fish, must have been a feast! I am yet to get a decent fish on these jigg, but I think that I will persevere with them, after seeing these pics.
They have always worked well for me Pech, just got to get the jigging right. The fish was beautiful too, i thawed out some Coral Trout on the weekend and it smelt like Crayfish, mmmm was nice crumbed.
giant
Quote:
i would love to follow you down on a trip like that some time, as i have only been here a couple of years and still yet to enjoy the fishing at the perons!!
No worries giant, its great doing the cruise from Darwin down, won't be till next year now though when the storms back off a bit i reckon.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ If there is water and it holds fish, then it is fun trying to fool them into eating what you offer!!
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:02 pm Post subject: Re: Channel Point and The Peron's again!!
no worries cuddles, sounds good, i have never used any gulps, have had a few people use them out with me but the occy's have always produced better!! Most of my fishing is drifting though, i have used the occy's a few times anchored and caught some ripper fish with them then, including nice Jewies, maybe the gulps work better at anchor??
quote]
I usually drift if i can but it does get hard when the tides are too big. I think the occys could work better on the bigger runs as they are heavier with a docile action. The gulps need to be able to "Glide' in the water were the occys i believe use the currents to "flutter".
I do use them both at anchor and on the drift but you seem to pick up more good reefys on the drift covering more ground picking off the loner big fish like tuskys and isolated trout schools.
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:27 pm Post subject: Re: Channel Point and The Peron's again!!
What a great weekend fishing. Very good report and the pics make even better. Thanks for sharing,
_________________ The gods do not deduct from man's allotted span the hours spent in fishing. ~Babylonian Proverb