Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:09 pm Post subject: A Work Weekend At Dundee
We finally had our work weekend fishing trip come around last weekend. The initial plan had three boats going out, though that ended up being two with a total of seven people between them.The plan was to get stuck into it and throw in some fishing as well. We arrived Friday arvo & get stuck into it we did. Many a laughs and drinks were had. We lost Moz around 11pm and had to head off as a drunken search party to locate him. We soon found him,much to our amusement, lying like a flat back turtle ("making sand angels") upside down on the ramp. A few more drinks & a couple of pep talks from Moz & we were off to bed. Up at 6am Saturday & on the water a little after 7. Moz went Long Lost in search of Macs & Tuna, while we went to Blaze in search of Goldies. To cut a long story short, we had a real mixed bag of a day. Heaps of Spanish flag, heaps of Trickies, a couple of small reds, a couple of goldies, a couple of gummy sharks ..... just all sorts all day. Moz was hooting around the bay getting his deckies to provide some fresh burley....and ended the day with three long tail tuna and a good goldie. Saturday evening was a ripper with the live music duo & kicking back taking it all in. Come Sunday, I called it quits as I thought it too rough for the couple I had on board (both new to fishing) & we didn't need any more than Saturday's catch. Never-say-die Moz, did hit the water with little success on a very rough day (& I know he will never forgive me for not going out). I thought he knew that fish go off the bite on the morning after a lunar eclipse...anyway. About six boats out on each morning, so no dramas at all. A top weekend with good mates, good laughs & plenty of cold drinks. A big thanks to the people & staff at the Lodge. Couldn't fault it. Top tucker & the live music just puts icing on the cake at Dundee. A magic weekend.