Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:22 am Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
cuddlescooper wrote:
Any way thats enough dribble and I will leave things at that. Good luck on the water where we all should be.
I agree that we should be on the water , but regrettably not for a few monthes now for me. I wouldnt be to concened aout the writing , its not a spelling bee, and at least you have been able to get the photos beween texts, which I stilll have not been able to do.
It would be equally fair to say that the ghound did get a marginally off the track of the thread, just a tad, actually I wasnt sure what he meant for a while.
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:59 am Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
At the risk of firing this topic up again i have to say that there is a charter mob out at dundee (not going to mention names because want to be objective here) that i spent 4 days at a few years ago with a good mate. Being from melbourne it had been a dream of ours to one day catch a barra so you could imagine our expectations traveling all the way up there and paying good money to a charter mob. We were based in a beach house and fished for four days leaving early every morning and ariving back late every afternoon, This suited us as you had the freedom to walk around and not be restricted by the confines of a boat. After reading this post i would have to say that we did a hell of a lot more fishing than what was done on the mentioned charter and like i said we were not based out on a boat??? granted we did spend 2 days on the finnis but the other two days were out wide. I also have to say that there were only 4 on our boat which left heaps of room and made fishing very comfortable. Our guide must of fealt the need for speed because it was full throttle for us all the way out and we spent a fair bit of time on the trawl too. It is still the best fishing experiance of my life and am still greatfull to the guide we had and the charter company. price wise i think we paid a little more (not by much) but that did include a return flight from Darwin to Dundee. If you are planning on doing another charter, do yourself a favour and look into the places that run out of dundee.
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:01 pm Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
I kinda agree with scooper on the slower average speed on the longer distances.. 600lh for top speed imagine that !! I know alot of fellas with big cruise boats that are capable of good speed but prefer just to travel at optimal fuel usage some go to te extent of only traveling when the tide is running in there favour and only get to a fast cruise speed say when traveling short distances back to camp of a night
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:03 pm Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
seado32 wrote:
At the risk of firing this topic up again i have to say that there is a charter mob out at dundee (not going to mention names because want to be objective here) that i spent 4 days at a few years ago with a good mate. Being from melbourne it had been a dream of ours to one day catch a barra so you could imagine our expectations traveling all the way up there and paying good money to a charter mob. We were based in a beach house and fished for four days leaving early every morning and ariving back late every afternoon, This suited us as you had the freedom to walk around and not be restricted by the confines of a boat. After reading this post i would have to say that we did a hell of a lot more fishing than what was done on the mentioned charter and like i said we were not based out on a boat??? granted we did spend 2 days on the finnis but the other two days were out wide. I also have to say that there were only 4 on our boat which left heaps of room and made fishing very comfortable. Our guide must of fealt the need for speed because it was full throttle for us all the way out and we spent a fair bit of time on the trawl too. It is still the best fishing experiance of my life and am still greatfull to the guide we had and the charter company. price wise i think we paid a little more (not by much) but that did include a return flight from Darwin to Dundee. If you are planning on doing another charter, do yourself a favour and look into the places that run out of dundee.
Fairly big difference between a cruise type mother ship to a well set up day fishing boat in costs !! I know id much prefer to spend the time on the water !!
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:56 pm Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
Yeah that's true !! Even the keenest of fishos would be hard pressed going 4 days and 4 nights straight fishing though!! I just enjoy being on the water though rather than the travel back to land although some of these bigger live aboard charter boats are better equipped than my house
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:24 pm Post subject: Re: 4 day/4 nights extended Charter to Dundee
ive read the whole post and im to scared to coment...magnificent reading though !!!
think i will just stick to the 14 ft punt,15 hp yammy,esky with a few coldies in it ,am radio so we can listen to ourselfs go out in the last leg of the quaddie and hopefully snag a few nice fish !!!!
then on the way home we can cr.p on abt how we missed all the big fish
got to love the sport !!!!
_________________ you have to have crack even if your just pissin in the wind