Bank:
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:58 pm Post subject: Some pointers for the Wiltshires
Hi all
Have fished at the Wiltshires many, many times but never done too well. Have usually trolled the first few k's of the second wiltshire during tides with only a little bit of run using classics. Best I have done is three fish, two keepers but that trip was a one off.
Am thinking of going there again this weekend with the low tides in the middle of the day.
Hoping someone can give me a couple of tips for the area including how far up I should go, should I be casting to snags or trolling, and a better lure selection than what I have been using!
Not looking for anything top secret (unless you want to PM me!), just need some help to break the code out there.
Cheers and beers
Matt PS have done a search of the site, can't really seem to find what I am looking for, but it may also be the case that I am as cr.p on the computer as I am at fishing out there!
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:01 pm Post subject: Re: Some pointers for the Wiltshires
The guns were using purple classics last time we were there. We were using GnRs. They were catching heaps. We were getting nothing. Don't know if this is a code breaker or not.
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:35 pm Post subject: Re: Some pointers for the Wiltshires
i have never had much luck with classics out that way, think maybe they are to loud??? RMGs have done the damage for me blue the best and green 2nd...... Troll structure flick snags, flicking snags has worked best for me..... Caught plenty of fish in the wilshires but caught alot more in smaller out of the way creeks......
_________________ Frodo, Dont wear the ring...........
The magical Bling, Bling..
I dont rap about bitches and ho's
I rap about witches and trolls.....
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:23 am Post subject: Re: Some pointers for the Wiltshires
Around the corner from the mouth of the Adelaide on the way to the top of Cape Hotham there is a small creek called Chads Creek its the first creek on your right as you travel towards the tip of Cape Hotham. Iv fished there numerous times and it has always produced a fish or two. Trolled up a nice 78cm and a mate hooked on to what looked like 1m barra but it spat the lure... On the low id suggest flicking the snags and as the tide comes in schools of Blue Salmon come through at the mouth anchor and put on bait i use fresh squid from Franks Seafood in Nightcliff also it might be worth flicking the mangroves at the mouth i know a few people who have pulled barra out from there. Before the tide reaches its peak put a classic on and troll the first half of the creek for Barra (Dont go any further while trolling as it gets very tight and there are a lot of snags). Id take a few crab pots as well the creek usually produces very well for crabs.
PS - There is a sand bank out the front so be careful! You will be fine getting in on the high tide but on the low i doubt you will be able to get out unless you want to pull your boat across!
Bank:
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:56 pm Post subject: Re: Some pointers for the Wiltshires
Thanks very much for the head up fellas, going to give it a go on Sunday, probably leave the motacar at Leaders and head across. Hopefully I can turn the tables on what is my hoodoo of a river!