Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:37 pm Post subject: Shady 4/2/12
So I get the phone call last nite from a mate who says he is going to head out to shady and would I like to come. My answer is of course yes, but I do have to get it past SWMBO. After a quick chat, I was heading to bed early for a even earlier start. The plan was to meet the guys at Humpty Doo, but due to some all nite activities for one of the guys, they were late, so I shot thru to Corroboree for a brekkie feed. We arrived, checked out the barrage and a quick look at the car park (which was chockers), then put the boat in. We got in the water pretty quick and were all set to go when we saw a guy pull in a bl..dy good barra off the barrage, roughly 80cm i rekcon. Good day ahead.......... we thought
We went up the river a bit and had a flick here and there, and a troll here and there, but didnt get so much as a bite. We were quite depressed. A quick feed and we thought we would head back to the barrage. We put the boat onto a sand bar on the opposite side to where all the land based guys were fishing, so as not to get in their way (plenty of people throwing in over there). This is where we finally got our first fish.... a pesky tarpon.... but good to get off the mark!! A readjustment of the boat a bit closer to the barrage and then bang... a hit.... a little fight and then I had him on the boat.... a 73cm barra, nice looking i thought. We were all pretty happy that we got one on board!!!! As a new barra fisho, its also my PB (but thats not too hard!!). As mentioned on the forums already, we saw the 2 douche bags get wayyyyy to close to the barrage. I really thought water cascading over a barrage would turn people off getting to close, but not these darwin-award wannabes!! Their boat rocked violently side to side, as they were getting sucked in at the edge of the barrage. Was really quite scary, especially for them, but im unsure whether they really cared.... im sure the 5m croc i saw down river would have loved to be introduced to them.......
A good day out, then a quick trip the rugby at mararra tonite (came home early, pretty stuffed and wanted to watch end of all stars league game). Tomorrow.... sleep
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:04 pm Post subject: Re: Shady 4/2/12
I gotta try and stop reading the shady reports the casting arm is really starting to twitch, only 4 weeks and 3 days to go but who is counting. cheers for the good report and pics, keep em coming I will still read and go and cast in the back yard to steady the twitch, might head out for a couple of casts now, the icecream container might be biting. Scott
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:11 pm Post subject: Re: Shady 4/2/12
Scott, get a bucket, and cut the bottom off a big coke bottle about 3'' hgh and put them at varying distances and cast a plug into them, every winner is coldie..the up and down move of the drinkin arm helps balance the casting arm.. graham.
bl..dy jack!! Good fishin Lucas, next post read 90cm PB
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:54 pm Post subject: Re: Shady 4/2/12
cheers Graham I had a couple of hits from the icecream container if I get to many I might end up in the trees Imight see if the coke bottle or the bucket are biting also scott