Bank:
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:10 pm Post subject: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Moz and I had planned a trip to Manton to drag out the fly rods for Saratoga however, the past weeks wind, rain and the forecast for Friday did not point to good conditions. I suggested to Moz, that with all the rain, that we should give the Adelaide a crack and that we might even be able to do a bit of “Strolling” whilst anchored up.
We headed out just before lunch and went up Marrakai creek. The water was a nice clear colour, so we thought we would be in with a chance. We gave the rockbar a few trolls for nothing and headed up on to the flood plains to cast around some lures. A couple of hits from Tarpon, but bugger all bait around really and no Barra for us up the Marrakai.
Another boat ended up landing four barra casting plastics, most undersize from what they said with one decent one at 70cm.
The wind was strong enough to blow a dog off a chain and there was no shelter out of it on the Marrakai, so we decided to head down to the main river and find somewhere sheltered with a small creek.
We looked at a few creeks and found one with a bit of bait coming out. We tied up to a tree at the mouth and were watching schools of Rainbows coming out. The water was still pretty dirty but Moz was confident of a colour change as the tide dropped. He was on the money!
We had one Barra roll and boof near the boat, so that, combined with the bait gave us a bit of hope and it was just a waiting game for the tide to drop a bit further. Some big mullet started to move out as well.
The colour change started, very nice clear water meeting the main flow and the barra started to boof. A couple of very big boofs were heard as well.
The waiting had given us the opportunity to search through our tackle bags to try and match the hatch of the Rainbows and I found a few plastics in my bag the at fit the bill. Little 65mm plastics, I rigged them up on 1/8 oz jig heads and started to cast around.
Attachment:
Hatch Match Adelaide.jpg
I picked up the first fish of 62cm and a couple of casts later another of 65cm. Both fish fought really well and Moz was a Ninja on the landing net. Moz was by now sold on the plastic I was using so he chucked one on as well.
Attachment:
62cm Adelaide.jpg
Attachment:
65cm Adelaide.jpg
Now fishing with the Zen Master of “Fusion” fishing and being at the home of “Strolling”, I thought it befitting that I chuck a classic out the back to “waddle” and “roll” in the current. Moz and I had quite a bit of luck on the Daly with the same method and the Adelaide was the first place that Moz had tried it. So my big Classic +10 160 in Bleeding Mullet was fed down the current to the snag that was slightly out of reach of casting distance, then the rod was carefully placed in the rod holder. Low and behold – “Slam!” and the fight was on, it put me into a snag but free spooling it, bought it back out into open water. Ended up landing it. A 73cm (may have been 75cm, can’t remember now) fit Barra joined us in the boat. “Strolling” strikes again – aaayagh!
Attachment:
73cm Adelaide.jpg
I then caught another Barra of 55cm. Pretty lucky really, four hits, four hook ups and four landed – 100% strike rate, pretty unusual for me. All fish fought very well.
Attachment:
55cm Adelaide.jpg
Moz dropped a couple of fish on the plastic and then he finally got one to stay hooked, it went 63m and another great fish.
Attachment:
Moz 63cm Adelaide.jpg
We were still laughing about “Strolling” striking again for about an hour after on the way home. It is now a "technique" in our books. Offers so much, you can multi task and still catch quality fish without getting stinking hands from bait.
So the fickle Adelaide delivered for us, very lucky I know. We were gobbing off that amongst the mortals of Barra fishing (not of the likes of Moonman and Bandit) we were worthy of “Legend” status on the Adelaide. I am scared to go back there now as I am surely due for a run of donuts on the Adelaide.
We had a great time and it was great to hear so many fish feeding and drag a few decent barra out of there as well.
The Adelaide was “Crackalackin”, even though it was “all silted up”.
Cheers, Doors Off
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post. _________________ Save the Tuna - Eat a Dolphin!
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:18 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Great post and pictures , shure is a great time of year up in darwin from now on in. Getting bit jealous reading the first good run off report Ithink you might start seeing few more boats around with lures out the back this run off
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:23 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
The Zen Masters! Well done lads! Reckon you might have started something with the strolling!Hooned past Moz on the Adelaide today, hope had more joy than me.
_________________ Outside of a dog, a book is a mans best friend,
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:32 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Top report mate, glad to hear strolling is working a treat. I seen moz and smed up there perfecting the new art. The water level has come even higher today at low tide it was only a meter from the top of the ramp. We also had the water police check the esky and safety equipment at the ramp.
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:52 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Good stuff lads,
I gave it a quick hit this morning for the low, went down stream, all creaks flowing well but dirty and as ben jam said the river is up a bit, at dead low was only half a meter below the tree line so zip for us. Tested the new mods on the boat though, all good to go, bring on the rain!!
_________________ Cheers Bullet
I LIVE WITH FEAR, SOMETIMES SHE LETS ME GO FISHING!
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:58 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
No love for Moz or myself today. The art of 'strolling' was applied at a number of spots, as well as plenty of casting. Still love being out there on the water. Cheers Moz.
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:03 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
JB and I went for a quick spin from 1 till three pm this arvo taking our boys 5,5 and 3. Lures were flying everywhere but no luck at donalds, last cast or beatrice.
_________________ Cheers
BD
'May your fishing spots be silted and your hooks on backwards'
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:51 pm Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Once again cheers to Dean for a great day out. No joy this morning for me and smed- so no better than you Muntzy. Not even strolling worked! The colour changes just began to work before the tide changed and it was all over. Didn't see the rainbows coming out like Friday, but a lot of big mullet moving up the river. Didn't see anything going them. Said g'day to Ben so hope he got on to a few. Anyone do OK this afternoon with the tide dropping lower?
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:04 am Post subject: Re: Adelaide Crackalackin for some "Strolling"
Reidy's make a softy in the rainbow in two sizes..pre rigged. Did alright at scotts today with the smaller one..only rats but seems they work ok. graham
_________________ " YOUTH is a GIFT " "AGE is an ART ""Doesn't mean you get any smarter..just wrinkled and cracked".